Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

240 volt socket

240 volt socket

Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:36 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 40
Tinyburst has a spectacular aura aboutTinyburst has a spectacular aura aboutTinyburst has a spectacular aura about
Default 240 volt socket

Has any one fitted a UK 3 pin 240 volt electrical socket in their US home? I am thinking of tapping into the cookers or dryers power supply and fitting a UK type socket so that my wife can use her sewing machine. Anyone got any experience or suggestions?

Cheers

Tiny
Tinyburst is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:41 pm
  #2  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,584
anotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by Tinyburst
Has any one fitted a UK 3 pin 240 volt electrical socket in their US home? I am thinking of tapping into the cookers or dryers power supply and fitting a UK type socket so that my wife can use her sewing machine. Anyone got any experience or suggestions?

Cheers

Tiny
I hope you have good home insurance!
anotherlimey is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:42 pm
  #3  
 
gruffbrown's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 30,102
gruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by Tinyburst
Has any one fitted a UK 3 pin 240 volt electrical socket in their US home? I am thinking of tapping into the cookers or dryers power supply and fitting a UK type socket so that my wife can use her sewing machine. Anyone got any experience or suggestions?

Cheers

Tiny
Sometimes I laugh and sometimes I weep.........not keen on the wife then?
gruffbrown is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:44 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 40
Tinyburst has a spectacular aura aboutTinyburst has a spectacular aura aboutTinyburst has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by gruffbrown
Sometimes I laugh and sometimes I weep.........not keen on the wife then?
She has her moments, but that is not the question.
Tinyburst is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:44 pm
  #5  
Septicity
 
fatbrit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 23,762
fatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/searc...et=Subcategory
fatbrit is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:45 pm
  #6  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,584
anotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

I was being half serious. I'm not sure your home insurance company would like it if you were to wire in a UK socket.
anotherlimey is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:45 pm
  #7  
Lapine Member
 
snowbunny's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas in my own little world
Posts: 21,691
snowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by gruffbrown
Sometimes I laugh and sometimes I weep.........not keen on the wife then?
Good Lord.

I would use an electrician. And I've got a degree in electrical engineering. The sewing machine does have a motor of sorts.... is that why you can't just use a standard voltage converter/transformer?
snowbunny is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:46 pm
  #8  
Lapine Member
 
snowbunny's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas in my own little world
Posts: 21,691
snowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by anotherlimey
I was being half serious. I'm not sure your home insurance company would like it if you were to wire in a UK socket.
Dodgy work on one's own? no, they wouldn't like. By a bonded certified pro? Probably be okay, after all we have them for washer/dryer/fridge.
snowbunny is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:48 pm
  #9  
 
gruffbrown's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 30,102
gruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by Tinyburst
She has her moments, but that is not the question.
Why not use a travel adaptor?
gruffbrown is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:50 pm
  #10  
Re vera, potas bene.
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA..Davenport FL
Posts: 2,405
krizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond reputekrizzy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by gruffbrown
Why not use a travel adaptor?
Why not be safe and buy a new machine.......
krizzy is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:50 pm
  #11  
 
gruffbrown's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 30,102
gruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by Tinyburst
Has any one fitted a UK 3 pin 240 volt electrical socket in their US home? I am thinking of tapping into the cookers or dryers power supply and fitting a UK type socket so that my wife can use her sewing machine. Anyone got any experience or suggestions?

Cheers

Tiny
The cookers probably on a 30 amp circuit, she'd certainly sew faster before she burst into flames
gruffbrown is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:51 pm
  #12  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 40
Tinyburst has a spectacular aura aboutTinyburst has a spectacular aura aboutTinyburst has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by snowbunny
Good Lord.

I would use an electrician. And I've got a degree in electrical engineering. The sewing machine does have a motor of sorts.... is that why you can't just use a standard voltage converter/transformer?
No, I think that if it were to be possible I would bring some of my other stuff over with me.

I really can not see what the problem is, I am guessing that the 240 volt supply is fused. I would just be using a different type of connection.
Tinyburst is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:52 pm
  #13  
Powder Maggot
 
AdobePinon's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 4,443
AdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond reputeAdobePinon has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by snowbunny
Good Lord.

I would use an electrician. And I've got a degree in electrical engineering. The sewing machine does have a motor of sorts.... is that why you can't just use a standard voltage converter/transformer?
No reasonable electrician is going to stick a UK socket on that circuit. Just a minor code violation, I'm sure.
AdobePinon is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:54 pm
  #14  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 13,584
anotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond reputeanotherlimey has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by Tinyburst
No, I think that if it were to be possible I would bring some of my other stuff over with me.

I really can not see what the problem is, I am guessing that the 240 volt supply is fused. I would just be using a different type of connection.
240V supply? Did I miss something?
anotherlimey is offline  
Old Jul 28th 2005, 8:54 pm
  #15  
 
gruffbrown's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 30,102
gruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond reputegruffbrown has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 240 volt socket

Originally Posted by anotherlimey
240V supply? Did I miss something?
No, I don't think so....

gruffbrown is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.