Speed test

Old Apr 2nd 2010, 7:18 pm
  #1  
jdr
RETIRED ;-))
Thread Starter
 
jdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Benalmadena Pueblo,Spain
Posts: 20,156
jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Speed test

I just used to do Speedtest, but now you can also do a pingtest which sort of tells you how crap Telefonicas service is.
Is anyone else on a different IP that can do the tests so I can compare. tia

Speedtest....


Pingtest...
Attached Thumbnails Speed test-screenhunter_02-apr.-02-20.15.gif  
jdr is offline  
Old Apr 2nd 2010, 8:06 pm
  #2  
Jur
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,980
Jur is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Speed test

We officially have 6Mb at home from Telefonica, but it´s worse than the 3Mb we had before. Very irritating, I feel like I´m working on a ZX Spectrum. What would you recommend? Change provider?

Ayamonte: (and why is the server in Lisbon?)

Last edited by Jur; Apr 2nd 2010 at 8:12 pm.
Jur is offline  
Old Apr 2nd 2010, 9:12 pm
  #3  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Fredbargate's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Land of no recession
Posts: 10,693
Fredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test

I have always used :- http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Using Chicago as the location

No ping test

With a 6mb Televeryexpensivefonica connection I regularly achieved 5mb

However I have now changed to Vodafone and am still awaiting the full connection, at present using the 3G dongle rated at 3mb I get very varying speeds 2.5 to less than 1 mb


Last edited by Fredbargate; Apr 2nd 2010 at 9:15 pm.
Fredbargate is online now  
Old Apr 2nd 2010, 9:13 pm
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
Veleta's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,101
Veleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to beholdVeleta is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Speed test

Originally Posted by Jur
We officially have 6Mb at home from Telefonica, but it´s worse than the 3Mb we had before. Very irritating, I feel like I´m working on a ZX Spectrum. What would you recommend? Change provider?

Ayamonte: (and why is the server in Lisbon?)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/769760495.png
I changed from Telefonica to Vodafone a few weeks ago. So far, so good.

Veleta is offline  
Old Apr 2nd 2010, 9:16 pm
  #5  
Jur
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,980
Jur is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Speed test

The thing is as well that at the moment I´m paying about € 20 for the current connection, where a dongle will set me back € 40 per month......

Did you know that Ayamonte is know as "the arse of Spain" ? We´re definetely at the back end!
Jur is offline  
Old Apr 2nd 2010, 9:16 pm
  #6  
jdr
RETIRED ;-))
Thread Starter
 
jdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Benalmadena Pueblo,Spain
Posts: 20,156
jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test

Sometimes I am on the PT server too, and get about the same as Madrid.
I don`t know why the tinternet is so crap in Spain, every other country seems so much faster for a lot less money.

Got a B off Lisbon and Madrid this time. lol


Last edited by jdr; Apr 2nd 2010 at 9:36 pm.
jdr is offline  
Old Apr 2nd 2010, 9:35 pm
  #7  
FreeThinker
 
jimenato's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: the moors and levels
Posts: 9,702
jimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test



I win!!!

And that's on a 6Mb connection
jimenato is offline  
Old Apr 2nd 2010, 9:36 pm
  #8  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Fredbargate's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Land of no recession
Posts: 10,693
Fredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test

Originally Posted by Jur
The thing is as well that at the moment I´m paying about € 20 for the current connection, where a dongle will set me back € 40 per month......
The vodaphone contract I have taken is for €39.90 + iva maximum speed ( supposedly 10mb on my line ) service with the dongle being free for use in case of line failure.
It can be used away from home at a cost of €2.90 + iva /day. I will take it with me when traveling for use in areas that have no free wifi or hotels that charge more than €2.90 for wifi

http://www.vodafone.es/idioma/ingles...hfxgm30tn0dn3s

I am told that the full service will be available from the 15th April
Fredbargate is online now  
Old Apr 2nd 2010, 10:03 pm
  #9  
Jur
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,980
Jur is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Speed test

Originally Posted by jimenato
http://www.speedtest.net/result/769837287.png

I win!!!

And that's on a 6Mb connection
Where are you ? Tarifa? And your connected through Telefonica? Rate?
Jur is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2010, 12:46 am
  #10  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,270
big wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test

http://www.speedtest.net/result/769971605.png








Not too bad





Last edited by big wheels; Apr 3rd 2010 at 12:53 am.
big wheels is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2010, 6:34 am
  #11  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Fredbargate's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Land of no recession
Posts: 10,693
Fredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test

Originally Posted by Jur
Where are you ? Tarifa? And your connected through Telefonica? Rate?
I'm going to make a guess that the user name jimenato has a reference to Jimena
Fredbargate is online now  
Old Apr 3rd 2010, 10:21 am
  #12  
FreeThinker
 
jimenato's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: the moors and levels
Posts: 9,702
jimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test

Originally Posted by Fredbargate
I'm going to make a guess that the user name jimenato has a reference to Jimena
jimenato is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2010, 10:25 am
  #13  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Fredbargate's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Land of no recession
Posts: 10,693
Fredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test

Originally Posted by jimenato
Jimena is up north
Fredbargate is online now  
Old Apr 3rd 2010, 10:27 am
  #14  
FreeThinker
 
jimenato's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: the moors and levels
Posts: 9,702
jimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond reputejimenato has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test



I'm not quite sure what this means
jimenato is offline  
Old Apr 3rd 2010, 4:25 pm
  #15  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Fredbargate's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Land of no recession
Posts: 10,693
Fredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Speed test

This is my best result with the dongle

Fredbargate is online now  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.