laptop cost

Old Jan 20th 2008, 8:50 am
  #16  
MODERATOR
 
Fred James's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Granada Costa
Posts: 9,969
Fred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Originally Posted by zads View Post
Thanks all for your views, next question, XP or Vista???

Most new PC's ship with Vista. Getting XP can be more difficult.

Vista works well on new PCs - most of the few reported problems with Vista relate to old programs and old peripherals where people have upgraded from XP on the old PC.

I have been using Vista for over 18 months with no problems, both as an upgrade on a 4 year old PC and as the main operating system on a new PC.

If you go for Vista make sure it is the Home Premium edition not the Home Basic.
Fred James is offline  
Old Jan 20th 2008, 10:33 am
  #17  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Andalucia
Posts: 54
spanishfamily is on a distinguished road
Default Re: laptop cost

If you have a small business, Dell Vostro are really good value and they have a good service package in Spain.
spanishfamily is offline  
Old Jan 20th 2008, 12:18 pm
  #18  
Mucho Macho
 
XTreme's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Huescar
Posts: 1,213
XTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Originally Posted by zads View Post
Thanks all for your views, next question, XP or Vista???
XP....no question!
Vista is nice and slick, and seems very stable. However....even if you've got a serious bit of kit, it's bloody hard work. It's not that it makes all computers run that much slower....it's just that everything you try to do seems to take twice as long.
But if you're buying with an OS pre-installed you're going to get Vista anyway.
XTreme is offline  
Old Jan 20th 2008, 2:28 pm
  #19  
jdr
RETIRED ;-))
 
jdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Benalmadena Pueblo,Spain
Posts: 20,160
jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Originally Posted by XTreme View Post
XP....no question!
Vista is nice and slick, and seems very stable. However....even if you've got a serious bit of kit, it's bloody hard work. It's not that it makes all computers run that much slower....it's just that everything you try to do seems to take twice as long.
But if you're buying with an OS pre-installed you're going to get Vista anyway.
Loading Vodafone tools onto Vista took about 12 accepts as it ran through, then there was an update, same again aggggh
jdr is offline  
Old Jan 20th 2008, 4:45 pm
  #20  
MODERATOR
 
Fred James's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Granada Costa
Posts: 9,969
Fred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Originally Posted by jdr View Post
Loading Vodafone tools onto Vista took about 12 accepts as it ran through, then there was an update, same again aggggh
Vodafone had some initial problems with Vista as, like many other manufacturers, they had not bothered to provide suitable software drivers in time for the Vista launch although they had about a years notice!

It is easy to blame Microsoft when something doesn't work with Vista but often it is lazy manufacturers who would rather sell you a new product (hardware or software) than take the trouble to provide a free upgrade.

It was the same when XP was introdeced, in fact, with Vista there were many more drivers/upgrades available than there were when XP was launched.
Fred James is offline  
Old Jan 20th 2008, 7:58 pm
  #21  
Mucho Macho
 
XTreme's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Huescar
Posts: 1,213
XTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond reputeXTreme has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Yes....but in the case of XP being launched most Windows 2000 drivers were compatible. With Vista there was no backwards compatibility to fall back on.
XTreme is offline  
Old Jan 20th 2008, 8:13 pm
  #22  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
EsuriJohn's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Puente Esuri
Posts: 6,667
EsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond repute
Smile Re: laptop cost

Originally Posted by XTreme View Post
Yes....but in the case of XP being launched most Windows 2000 drivers were compatible. With Vista there was no backwards compatibility to fall back on.
Same with Office 2007 and my new PC came with both installed which is a bu**er since if I send a word document in 2007 anyone at the other end with O 2000 or 2003 can't open it!
EsuriJohn is offline  
Old Jan 20th 2008, 8:20 pm
  #23  
BE Forum Addict
 
leighbloke's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Sunny Manchester
Posts: 3,831
leighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Originally Posted by John & Kath View Post
Same with Office 2007 and my new PC came with both installed which is a bu**er since if I send a word document in 2007 anyone at the other end with O 2000 or 2003 can't open it!
Just use the save as earlier version option - don't be so selfish!!!!
leighbloke is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2008, 2:54 pm
  #24  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: scabbi sabbi
Posts: 51
zads is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: laptop cost

Back again.

thanks for the advice guys, 90% certain I am gonna get a laptop when I get there even though they seem to be a tiny bit cheaper here. The top and bottom is that we need to be online asap and as we are goin to be transient for a while is the fact that having no permenant address gonna be a problem. ( one month holiday let while we try to find a long term rental )

So, the initial plan was to take my T mobile MDA (internet phone thingy)which is on a 'web n walk' unlimited useage contract and use it as a wireless modem for a laptop. However, this would cost a fortune as web browsing out of the uk is not within the contract. It cost me £120 for 20MB while on my hols in Greece last year. Just had a quick look at Dell uk and they can supply laptops fitted with a vodaphone sim card using GPRS 3G, think sony have done a similar thing with T mobile, anyone know if there is anything like that available in Spain and what the tarrifs are like.
zads is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2008, 3:29 pm
  #25  
MODERATOR
 
Fred James's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Granada Costa
Posts: 9,969
Fred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Hi Zads

You can get Vodafone 3G (subject to coverage) in Spain OK.

There is a lot of chat about it on another forum http://tinyurl.com/2m67fv

Fred
Fred James is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2008, 5:30 pm
  #26  
Popping in for a chat
 
Lionda's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Back home
Posts: 4,572
Lionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond reputeLionda has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Originally Posted by mrsjdr View Post
Think all new ones come with vista, may be wrong, I prefer XP but only because I am used to it, saying that, am managing with vista, just takes some getting used to.

Depends what you are looking for. We have a music (kareoke) download which vista won't accept, it works on the desktop - XP (try taking that around the bars!) but not on the laptop which is vista!
Lionda is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2008, 7:38 pm
  #27  
jdr
RETIRED ;-))
 
jdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Benalmadena Pueblo,Spain
Posts: 20,160
jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Originally Posted by Lionda View Post
Depends what you are looking for. We have a music (kareoke) download which vista won't accept, it works on the desktop - XP (try taking that around the bars!) but not on the laptop which is vista!
have a look on the karaoke website, they may have an updated driver for Vista.
jdr is offline  
Old Jan 26th 2008, 8:04 pm
  #28  
BE Forum Addict
 
leighbloke's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Sunny Manchester
Posts: 3,831
leighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond reputeleighbloke has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: laptop cost

Originally Posted by Lionda View Post
.................... it works on the desktop - XP (try taking that around the bars!) ...................
Do you remember real DJs - with records - each album case was bigger than a PC. You must be really comitted to your business.
leighbloke is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.