Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

How to extend Saudi driving licence?

How to extend Saudi driving licence?

Old Oct 7th 2018, 4:29 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 228
magnification is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How to extend Saudi driving licence?

To renew my KSA driving licence, do I just order it online, then pay.
Is a new photo needed?
Do I await their text message that it's ready, then collect the licence from the local driving school?
magnification is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2018, 4:31 pm
  #2  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 7,693
scot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to extend Saudi driving licence?

Get your "kafeel" on the case. That is his job !
scot47 is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2018, 5:34 pm
  #3  
 
nonthaburi's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Buraydah , Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,103
nonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to extend Saudi driving licence?

You will need to go to your local government registered medical centre and explain that you need the check up for driver license. About 100 SAR normally I think. They do all the paperwork there.

They will then upload the results into the government system. You should receive a text telling you when this has been done on your Absher registered phone number.

You then go online and pay the fee based on how many years you want.

once this is done you all your information is processed. There is a piece of paper you can print out from your Absher account.

take this to the main moroor office where licenses are issued. Just show them your Iqama and old license. Wait five minutes and you'll get your new license.

You shouldn't need a photo because they just use the same one that's on the Iqama. Don't quote me on that though.

it's quite efficient really, and relatively painless.
nonthaburi is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2018, 6:48 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 228
magnification is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to extend Saudi driving licence?

Thanks.
magnification is offline  
Old Oct 9th 2018, 9:07 am
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: where I currently am
Posts: 446
sicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to extend Saudi driving licence?

to confirm: no photo needed

all the rest is as nonthaburi says unless you work for a decent company. In which case, do the eye test and the payment at an ATM/online and then just give your old license to HR. They'll do the rest and contact you when your new license is comes back to them a day or so later.
sicklyman is offline  
Old Oct 9th 2018, 10:38 am
  #6  
 
nonthaburi's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Buraydah , Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,103
nonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to extend Saudi driving licence?

Originally Posted by sicklyman View Post
to confirm: no photo needed

all the rest is as nonthaburi says unless you work for a decent company. In which case, do the eye test and the payment at an ATM/online and then just give your old license to HR. They'll do the rest and contact you when your new license is comes back to them a day or so later.
my company is decent, unfortunately their HR leaves a lot to be desired.

had to take the company car to do an MVPI inspection the other week. It was only then after nearly three years of driving the thing that anyone noticed the VIN number on the windshield didn't match the number on the Istamara!

Last edited by nonthaburi; Oct 9th 2018 at 10:39 am. Reason: Typo
nonthaburi is offline  
Old Oct 12th 2018, 10:58 am
  #7  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 228
magnification is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to extend Saudi driving licence?

Are driving schools open on Saturdays in order to get a renewed driving licence?
magnification is offline  
Old Oct 15th 2018, 3:59 am
  #8  
 
nonthaburi's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Buraydah , Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,103
nonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to extend Saudi driving licence?

Originally Posted by magnification View Post
Are driving schools open on Saturdays in order to get a renewed driving licence?
I think when you get your first Saudi license you go to the driving school, but after that when you renew you need to deal with the Moroor office. Just ask a Saudi colleague where it is or Google.

Don't think they'll be open on a Saturday though.
nonthaburi is offline  
Old Oct 15th 2018, 9:19 am
  #9  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: where I currently am
Posts: 446
sicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond reputesicklyman has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to extend Saudi driving licence?

Originally Posted by nonthaburi View Post
I think when you get your first Saudi license you go to the driving school
I didn't six years ago. Just gave my then employer my UK license, they had it translated, ran me to a clinic to do an eyetest and gave me a Saudi license a couple of days later.

Things may have changed though.
sicklyman is offline  
Old Oct 15th 2018, 2:58 pm
  #10  
 
nonthaburi's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Buraydah , Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,103
nonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond reputenonthaburi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to extend Saudi driving licence?

Originally Posted by sicklyman View Post
I didn't six years ago. Just gave my then employer my UK license, they had it translated, ran me to a clinic to do an eyetest and gave me a Saudi license a couple of days later.

Things may have changed though.
yeah, but my point is that first license and renewal are different processes, even more so now than before with the online stuff.

regardless, when your company person did that for you they would have had to go to the driving school with the translations etc.

and for the renewal to the Moroor office.
nonthaburi is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.