Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Paradise !! at what cost ???

Paradise !! at what cost ???

Old Mar 31st 2005, 10:54 pm
Forum Regular

jwinch has a spectacular aura aboutjwinch has a spectacular aura aboutjwinch has a spectacular aura about
Default Paradise !! at what cost ???

Before anyone starts jumping on the whinging pom band wagon, No I am not having a bad day and yes it is a beautiful place, But there are many issues I have came up against since being her that I either didn't give enough thought to or perhaps more likely didnt want to give more thought too.

My initial reasons for moving were like many peoples, less work stress, no morgage, better quality of life, better future for the children etc. We lived in East London where you couldn't but a flat for less than £200,000. It always worried me how our children would ever be able to afford a morgage etc.

Well we have been here five months I am a qualified accountant and my husband is a plumber.

We have both manage to find work, my salary has dropped from $50 per hour in the UK to $24 here. My husbands has dropped from $75 per hour in the UK to $28 dollar per hour here. Our Income is only 40% of what we had in the UK. I have spoken to many agents and they assure me these are the going rates for the sunshine coast. all down to supply and demand they say. I don't care what anyone says the cost of living on the coast is BLOODY EXPENSIVE ! when earning $'s

House Prices - The cheapest 3 bed Houses I have seen in this area are $330,000 plus and most of them have been real S**t holes. So unless you come over with lots of UK £ most people will really struggle to pay a morgage. We are back to the same scenario with the kids that given the average earnings they are going to stand even less chance of buying a house.