Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession
Reload this Page >

Confused Welder where to begin?

Confused Welder where to begin?

Old Feb 17th 2009, 2:59 am
Forum Regular

ftm2009 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Confused Welder where to begin?

Hello I am new to the forum and have read many posts as well as using search thread, there is a lot of great information around but I was wondering if anyone can advise me specifically on my case which is as such :

Me : 32 year old time served 1st class welder (12 years post apprenticeship experience)

Wife 35 year old Qualified nursery nurse.

Son1 10 years old

Son2 7 years old

Baby 3 (TBC)

I have a million questions as I am sure you all did when first deciding on the big step of emigrating, here are a few and hopefully someone in welding game can advise.

1)What are the welding opportunities at the moment and will the job be paid sufficient to take care of my family?

2)I believe Queensland is the best place for my type of work is this still the case?

3)What kind of visa is advisable for me and my family and how likely am I to be accepted?

4) what is average time scale from applying to being granted?

5) lets say I came over with no job at first and worse case scenario I couldnt find one for a while, what approx cost of living per month and how much would i need in my War Chest ?

Any advice at all on anything is much appreciated I do realise I am at the very start of a long journey and wish to be sure I am doing the right thing for me and my family, I think if i sold up in UK and paid off all my debts I would be left with about £40-50k, not a great deal but thats everything I have, hence the worry of risking the lot and starting afresh back in the uk if it goes pear shaped.

Many thanks for a great forum, looking forward to knowledgable replies
Old Feb 17th 2009, 3:19 am
Account Closed

kporte is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Confused Welder where to begin?