Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

US tax filing/burden for 401k early withdrawal

US tax filing/burden for 401k early withdrawal

Old Apr 12th 2017, 2:40 pm
Just Joined

yanwoo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default US tax filing/burden for 401k early withdrawal

I’m a UK citizen who worked in the US for ~6 years until late 2010, first under an L1B and then an H1B visa (if I recall correctly). I paid into a 401k during that time. I moved back to the UK in late 2010 and left my 401k purring along in the US.

After submitting a W8-BEN to my provider, and getting my withholding set to 0%, I took $14000 out of the 401k last year (2016) as an early withdrawal with the understanding I would need to pay a 10% penalty. No withholding was taken by my provider.

I’m currently studying and receiving a tax free stipend in the UK. So part of my thinking was this withdrawal would be beneath the threshold for tax in the UK, and because of the US/UK tax treaty for pension withdrawals it wouldn’t be subject to taxes in the US.

My assumption was I would just need to complete and submit a 5329, and then pay my $1400 penalty?

However, now I’ve come to complete the admin, I’ve been reading around, and I’m unclear if I also need to complete a 1040NR for 2016 too? I had very little other income in the US from dividends - which was taxed 15% at source according to the tax treaty - and p2p lending (tiny amounts), and in total I’m under the personal allowance for 16/17 in the UK (£11000) BUT, obviously, over the $10000 threshold for US income.

So I suppose my questions are:

1. Do I need to submit a 1040NR in addition to the 5329?
2. Can I expect to be paying some federal taxes in addition to the $1400 penalty or does the UK/US tax treaty mean I have no tax burden in the US as I had assumed?

I’d be very grateful for anyone who has been a similar position that can share their experiences and insight!
Old Apr 12th 2017, 3:55 pm
BE Enthusiast