Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Uk mobile question

Uk mobile question

Old Apr 19th 2017, 4:24 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 34
Moo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Uk mobile question

Hi quick question about Uk Orange unlocked Samsung S5, we want to use this on a US network for our teen son, I previously tried with AT&T but was told it wouldn't read the sim....
Looking for advice as to how to get the phone to work and any network that is best (reluctant to go buy a new phone for him to play games on when there is one in the drawer)
TIA
Moo52 is offline  
Old Apr 20th 2017, 3:10 pm
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Apr 2016
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 326
TheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

A UK "unlocked" S5 should work on most networks in the US. Just ensure it's bands line up.

The below table is a cheat sheet of the US carriers and their bands:



The UK S5 supports the following:

LTE Bands: LTE Band 4, LTE Band 17, LTE Band 5, LTE Band 2, LTE Band 12
Others: WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM 850/900/1800/1900 / CDMA2000 1X 1900/800

That being said, the above indicates it should work absolutely fine for AT&T.
TheKingOfHearts is offline  
Old Apr 20th 2017, 3:21 pm
  #3  
Lt Col (Retd)
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 47,704
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

Originally Posted by TheKingOfHearts View Post
A UK "unlocked" S5 should work on most networks in the US. Just ensure it's bands line up.

The below table is a cheat sheet of the US carriers and their bands: ....
That table must be at least 3-4 years old, as most Verizon calls are now routed through LTE transmitters/ receivers, not CDMA.
Pulaski is online now  
Old Apr 20th 2017, 3:22 pm
  #4  
Bloody Yank
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: USA! USA!
Posts: 4,186
RoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

Originally Posted by Moo52 View Post
Hi quick question about Uk Orange unlocked Samsung S5, we want to use this on a US network for our teen son, I previously tried with AT&T but was told it wouldn't read the sim....
Looking for advice as to how to get the phone to work and any network that is best (reluctant to go buy a new phone for him to play games on when there is one in the drawer)
TIA
There are two GSM providers in the US: AT&T and T-Mobile.

Any other carrier that offers GSM service is a third-party reseller that is using one of those two networks (which almost certainly means that you're still using AT&T.)

(Do note that Verizon and Sprint both use CDMA, so they do not use SIM cards and will not be able to provide you with a SIM.)

AT&T has "GoPhone" pay-as-you-go SIMs. Go to a AT&T retailer and just confirm that it works before you leave the shop.
RoadWarriorFromLP is offline  
Old Apr 20th 2017, 3:26 pm
  #5  
Lt Col (Retd)
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 47,704
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

Originally Posted by RoadWarriorFromLP View Post
There are two GSM providers in the US: AT&T and T-Mobile.

Any other carrier that offers GSM service is a third-party reseller that is using one of those two networks (which almost certainly means that you're still using AT&T.)

(Do note that Verizon and Sprint both use CDMA, so they do not use SIM cards and will not be able to provide you with a SIM.).....
This advice is out of date.

GSM has been replaced by LTE.

Verizon has built an LTE network and is transitioning to LTE away from CDMA, and in fact mostly has already done so. So most, if not all Verizon phones do now have a SIM card.

Last edited by Pulaski; Apr 20th 2017 at 3:29 pm.
Pulaski is online now  
Old Apr 20th 2017, 4:24 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 34
Moo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond reputeMoo52 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

Thanks guys for all the advise, will take it to AT&T and keep my fingers crossed x
Moo52 is offline  
Old Apr 20th 2017, 6:13 pm
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Apr 2016
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 326
TheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond reputeTheKingOfHearts has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
That table must be at least 3-4 years old, as most Verizon calls are now routed through LTE transmitters/ receivers, not CDMA.
Unsure if you just glanced at the table Pulaski, but it quite clearly says 4G LTE bands for Verizon
TheKingOfHearts is offline  
Old Apr 20th 2017, 6:19 pm
  #8  
Lt Col (Retd)
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 47,704
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

Originally Posted by TheKingOfHearts View Post
Unsure if you just glanced at the table Pulaski, but it quite clearly says 4G LTE bands for Verizon
I was focused on column 2 of the table, "Network", which for Verizon says (only) "CDMA".
Pulaski is online now  
Old Apr 24th 2017, 5:01 pm
  #9  
Banned
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,154
hungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
I was focused on column 2 of the table, "Network", which for Verizon says (only) "CDMA".
It should be 'CDMA/LTE'.
hungryhorace is offline  
Old Apr 24th 2017, 5:16 pm
  #10  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
mrken30's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Portlandia Metro
Posts: 7,147
mrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond reputemrken30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

Not sure the real reason Verizon is losing customers, but saw this article over the weekend.

Verizon is losing customers like crazy, even with unlimited data plans – BGR
mrken30 is offline  
Old Apr 24th 2017, 7:29 pm
  #11  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2016
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 37
ch2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond reputech2016 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Uk mobile question

I'm using an unlocked British-purchased Samsung S6 on AT&T through their prepaid GoPhone offering. The $45/month plan has just become better value with 6Gb included (was previously only 4Gb). Another option for a holiday from the UK is T Mobile offer a use-once 3 week SIM card aimed specifically at tourists for $30 (2Gb)

Verizon and Sprint were no good for me and my GSM phone. AT&T and T-Mobile use the euro standard GSM network, so your phone will work fully on them.
ch2016 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.