Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

UK electrical items in the US?

UK electrical items in the US?

Old Jul 16th 2004, 3:06 pm
  #1  
Gravity Always Wins
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Scotland -> Delaware - >Scotland?
Posts: 47
a lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant future
Default UK electrical items in the US?

We're due to move to the US soon (visa permitting!) and were wondering if electrical items from the UK will work in the US?

I understand there's an issue with TVs.
a lad insane is offline  
Old Jul 16th 2004, 3:10 pm
  #2  
@matthewb76
 
Manc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 21,886
Manc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK electrical items in the US?

Originally posted by a lad insane
We're due to move to the US soon (visa permitting!) and were wondering if electrical items from the UK will work in the US?

I understand there's an issue with TVs.
with a lot of faffing about with adapters and converters, yes it is technically possible.

my advice is flog your UK stuff on Ebay and buy new when you get here.
Manc is offline  
Old Jul 16th 2004, 3:28 pm
  #3  
Member
 
James Box's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Bath, UK ---> Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 371
James Box has a brilliant futureJames Box has a brilliant futureJames Box has a brilliant futureJames Box has a brilliant futureJames Box has a brilliant futureJames Box has a brilliant futureJames Box has a brilliant future
Default Re: UK electrical items in the US?

Originally posted by manc1976
with a lot of faffing about with adapters and converters, yes it is technically possible.

my advice is flog your UK stuff on Ebay and buy new when you get here.
Unless you have a really nice kettle.... okay, lets not go there
James Box is offline  
Old Jul 16th 2004, 3:38 pm
  #4  
@matthewb76
 
Manc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 21,886
Manc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK electrical items in the US?

Originally posted by James Box
Unless you have a really nice kettle.... okay, lets not go there
I remember one guy who asked if he could bring his sky satelitte dish and box with him and would he be able to pick up Sky.
Manc is offline  
Old Jul 16th 2004, 3:39 pm
  #5  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 22,105
AmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK electrical items in the US?

Originally posted by manc1976
I remember one guy who asked if he could bring his sky digital box with him and would he be able to pick up Sky.

I only wish!!!
AmerLisa is offline  
Old Jul 16th 2004, 10:27 pm
  #6  
Visa in hand!!!
 
sohosid's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: London - San Francisco
Posts: 62
sohosid is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK electrical items in the US?

What about amps and speakers??? Mine are pretty expensive, and I don't really want to flog them......but how much would it cost to ship them???? (The amp is very heavy).....in fact, at what point does the cost of shipping stuff out-weigh buying new?
sohosid is offline  
Old Jul 17th 2004, 4:58 am
  #7  
looking for the corkscrew
 
bored-silly's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Sooooo Bay Area
Posts: 1,997
bored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond reputebored-silly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK electrical items in the US?

Originally posted by sohosid
What about amps and speakers??? Mine are pretty expensive, and I don't really want to flog them......but how much would it cost to ship them???? (The amp is very heavy).....in fact, at what point does the cost of shipping stuff out-weigh buying new?
Hi.
We live in San Francisco and moved here last Nov. My husband left all his amps at home and plays his guitars through the computer which is the same one as we had in the UK. It works with a simple travel plug! I think he has had to buy a little bit of paraphenalia to be able to play but it seems to be working out ok. When you say amps, what kind of stuff do you want to bring?
bored-silly is offline  
Old Jul 17th 2004, 1:10 pm
  #8  
Mr. Grumpy
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,100
BritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond reputeBritGuyTN has a reputation beyond repute
Default

i shipped over my bang olufsen system which cost about $6k and got transformers for it - it works fine

that and my espresso machine and some other bits and bobs cost about 400 quid

well worth it in my book
BritGuyTN is offline  
Old Jul 17th 2004, 1:43 pm
  #9  
Visa in hand!!!
 
sohosid's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: London - San Francisco
Posts: 62
sohosid is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Originally posted by BritGuyTN
i shipped over my bang olufsen system which cost about $6k and got transformers for it - it works fine

that and my espresso machine and some other bits and bobs cost about 400 quid

well worth it in my book
Cheers - that's kind of the info I wanted!

Mike.
sohosid is offline  
Old Jul 17th 2004, 11:50 pm
  #10  
BE Forum Addict
 
Jan Alaska's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Harbor Springs, Michigan *again*
Posts: 2,340
Jan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond repute
Default

my daughter aged 12 is visiting for the summer and shes just asked me if she can bring her PS2 and dance mat ? any ideas ?

Jan
Jan Alaska is offline  
Old Jul 18th 2004, 4:39 am
  #11  
Unclear Engineer
 
indybrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Noblesville, Indiana.
Posts: 130
indybrit is on a distinguished road
Default Re: UK electrical items in the US?

Originally posted by manc1976
I remember one guy who asked if he could bring his sky satelitte dish and box with him and would he be able to pick up Sky.
LOL.....

Only electrical item I brought over from the UK was my Marshall guitar amp. I just had to take it to bits and re-wire the transformer.

Other than that you run into all sorts of incompatability issues:
50HZ / 60HZ
120V / 240V
PAL / NTSC
indybrit is offline  
Old Jul 18th 2004, 1:19 pm
  #12  
Gravity Always Wins
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Scotland -> Delaware - >Scotland?
Posts: 47
a lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant futurea lad insane has a brilliant future
Default

Sounds like a nightmare.

I will probably sell my guitar amp, not sure about my PC.
I take it UK TVs, videos etc are no use in the US?

Does anyone know about PS2 compatibility? I would like to bring it but I'm not sure if it will work in the US.
a lad insane is offline  
Old Jul 18th 2004, 1:46 pm
  #13  
100% Pure
 
DaveC's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX.
Posts: 1,185
DaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by a lad insane
Does anyone know about PS2 compatibility? I would like to bring it but I'm not sure if it will work in the US.
I assume you bought the PS2 in the UK? It will work in the US if you buy a voltage convertor but you're going to have the PAL/NTSC thing to deal with when you plug it into a US TV.

Also, you'll be able to play the games you currently own but you won't be able to buy new PS2 games in the US as they'll all be NTSC games and won't work on your PAL PS2 - unless you get your PS2 chipped.

I have a NTSC PS2 which I used in the UK with a voltage convertor (my TV was fine with the NTSC signal). I considered getting it chipped to play UK games but decided that I didn't want the insides buggered about with.

Do a search on this forum for other suggestions - recently someone decided to bring a UK VCR and TV over as they had a big stash of kids videos.
DaveC is offline  
Old Jul 18th 2004, 6:52 pm
  #14  
JAJ
Retired
 
JAJ's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 34,649
JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Each electrical item you have should have a label that tells you the range of voltage it will accept.

Most desktop PCs have a dual voltage power supply - you need to open up the PC and flick a little switch on the power supply. Then you only need a plug adaptor.

LCD screens may automatically be dual voltage - check the label.

In general it's more feasible to buy voltage transformers for low wattage items (usually things that don't heat up). And it may be easier to buy the adaptors you need in the UK.

Jeremy

Originally posted by a lad insane
Sounds like a nightmare.

I will probably sell my guitar amp, not sure about my PC.
I take it UK TVs, videos etc are no use in the US?

Does anyone know about PS2 compatibility? I would like to bring it but I'm not sure if it will work in the US.
JAJ is offline  
Old Jul 18th 2004, 11:16 pm
  #15  
BE Forum Addict
 
Jan Alaska's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Harbor Springs, Michigan *again*
Posts: 2,340
Jan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond reputeJan Alaska has a reputation beyond repute
Default

So that looks like a NO then ..... I suppose i could buy her a PS2 over here, but not sure about the dance mat thing ! Oh well i'll break the news gently to her

Jan
Jan Alaska is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.