Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Social Security Number

Social Security Number

Old Jun 25th 2003, 5:54 pm
  #1  
dude1234
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Social Security Number

Hi

I am on H4 visa. I have heared I am not allowed to get SSN. With out this I am not able to have bank account also. What are the options for me. It sucks to be in US with H4 visa.

If I apply to University and get F1 do they give me SSN? Is there any difficulties to get GC? My husband is trying apply GC through employement.

Please help me out.


dude1234
 
Old Jun 25th 2003, 6:35 pm
  #2  
Howling at the Moon
 
lairdside's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Incline Village, NV
Posts: 3,742
lairdside will become famous soon enoughlairdside will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Social Security Number

Originally posted by dude1234
Hi

I am on H4 visa. I have heared I am not allowed to get SSN. With out this I am not able to have bank account also. What are the options for me. It sucks to be in US with H4 visa.

If I apply to University and get F1 do they give me SSN? Is there any difficulties to get GC? My husband is trying apply GC through employement.

Please help me out.


dude1234
You don't need an SSN to open a basic bank account if you are not a US resident. I opened an account at Bank of America without an SSN, I also believe that people have been sucessful at Wells Fargo, Citibank and Chase Manhattan. Also I have heard that people have been able to use ITIN #'s to open bank accounts.

There are even banks who will open an account for you without a US address although I do not know how reputable they are.

I believe that F-1 visa holders are eligible for an SSN.
lairdside is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2003, 8:47 pm
  #3  
Dizum
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Social Security Number

    > I am on H4 visa. I have heared I am not allowed to get SSN.
Correct.
    >With out this I am not able to have bank account also.
    >What are the options for me. It sucks to be in US with H4 visa.
Get TIN - Taxpayer Identification Number from IRS - Internal Revenue
Service.
    > If I apply to University and get F1 do they give me SSN?
No.
    >Is there any difficulties to get GC?
Yes.
    >My husband is trying apply GC through employement.
Good Idea.
    > Please help me out.
    > dude1234
    > --
    > Posted via http://britishexpats.com
 
Old Jun 26th 2003, 12:50 am
  #4  
Onother One
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Social Security Number

My wife got ITIN and then used that numer to open account in the local bank.

But real problem is how to get drivers licence.

Is there a way for H4 holder to get drivers licence at local DMV?

The problem is list of documents that DMV requires even to apply for photo
ID. Does anyone know H4 holder who got drivers license after new rules
(after 9/11) were released from DMV.

Thank you in adcavnce.

No SPam.
 
Old Jun 26th 2003, 12:55 am
  #5  
Sylvia Ottemoeller
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Social Security Number

"dizum" wrote in message
news:[email protected]...

    > > I am on H4 visa. I have heared I am not allowed to get SSN.

    > Correct.

    > >With out this I am not able to have bank account also.
    > >What are the options for me. It sucks to be in US with H4 visa.

    > Get TIN - Taxpayer Identification Number from IRS - Internal Revenue
    > Service.

    > > If I apply to University and get F1 do they give me SSN?

    > No.

Actually, yes, with F-1 status you can usually get an SSN by applying at an
SSA Office. Most SSA Offices require a letter from the university, and some
even want to see an actual job offer (on-campus, of course) before issuing
the SSN.
 
Old Jun 26th 2003, 1:04 am
  #6  
Zabed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Social Security Number

Can a H4 visa holder work on-campus while studying? If she can work
on-campus then she can get SSN too!!!! Please let me know our learned
friennds' opinion on this!!!
Thanks

dude1234 wrote in message news:...
    > Hi
    >
    > I am on H4 visa. I have heared I am not allowed to get SSN. With out
    > this I am not able to have bank account also. What are the options for
    > me. It sucks to be in US with H4 visa.
    >
    > If I apply to University and get F1 do they give me SSN? Is there any
    > difficulties to get GC? My husband is trying apply GC through
    > employement.
    >
    > Please help me out.
    >
    >
    > dude1234
 
Old Jun 26th 2003, 1:29 am
  #7  
Sylvia Ottemoeller
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Social Security Number

"Zabed" wrote in message
news:[email protected]...

    > Can a H4 visa holder work on-campus while studying?

No. An H-4 status holder is not eligible for employment authorization *at
all for any reason.* Period.

If she can work
    > on-campus then she can get SSN too!!!! Please let me know our learned
    > friennds' opinion on this!!!

    > dude1234 wrote in message
news:...

    > > I am on H4 visa. I have heared I am not allowed to get SSN. With out
    > > this I am not able to have bank account also. What are the options for
    > > me. It sucks to be in US with H4 visa.
    > >
    > > If I apply to University and get F1 do they give me SSN? Is there any
    > > difficulties to get GC? My husband is trying apply GC through
    > > employement.
 
Old Jun 26th 2003, 1:33 am
  #8  
Joachim Feise
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Social Security Number

On Wed, 25 Jun 2003, Zabed wrote:

    > Can a H4 visa holder work on-campus while studying?

No. Somebody on H4 can not work at all!

-Joe
 
Old Jun 26th 2003, 1:42 am
  #9  
Joachim Feise
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Social Security Number

On Wed, 25 Jun 2003, Onother One wrote:

    > But real problem is how to get drivers licence.
    > Is there a way for H4 holder to get drivers licence at local DMV?

In their FAQ, the Social Security administration says that they issue
SSNs when needed for a drivers license:

I have no idea if that's still accurate. I remember that they stopped issuing
SSNs for drivers license purposes, and then there was a class-action lawsuit
that they lost, so now they offer it again. But they try to get around that
verdict.

-Joe
 
Old Jun 27th 2003, 3:00 pm
  #10  
dude1234
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default H4 - F1 - GC

thanks for reply. is it difficut to get GC if I change my status from H4 to F1. Coz my husband is applying for GC. Which status will be beneficial for me. Is there any way that I can work at home.

thanks
 
Old Jun 27th 2003, 4:32 pm
  #11  
Not living a 9 to 5 life
 
NC Penguin's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11,061
NC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Number

Originally posted by Onother One
My wife got ITIN and then used that numer to open account in the local bank.

<<snip>>

The problem is list of documents that DMV requires even to apply for photo
ID. Does anyone know H4 holder who got drivers license after new rules
(after 9/11) were released from DMV.

Thank you in adcavnce.

No SPam.
What does your state's DMV list as acceptable photo ID? What about your passport?



NC Penguin
NC Penguin is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.