Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Sending gift to the UK, best way to minimize VAT?

Sending gift to the UK, best way to minimize VAT?

Old Oct 11th 2012, 12:27 pm
Forum Regular

sykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant future
Default Sending gift to the UK, best way to minimize VAT?

I want to send a thank-you present to a friend back in London, who I stayed with for a week while I was in the UK. I want to send a piece of art work that I made. I am not a professional artist and have never sold any work. The value of the piece, if there is any, is in the canvas that could be reused.

What is the best way to send this to avoid, or minimize VAT or import duty?
Old Oct 11th 2012, 1:45 pm

Weeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sending gift to the UK, best way to minimize VAT?

I sent a parcel to my parents. The customs declaration was childrens clothing gifts under $20 and my parents were still forced to pay £20 in customs duty and fees to receive the parcel. When my parents questioned it, the very helpful response was that you can't question it. You either accept it and pay up, or you don't get your parcel. I honestly think they just make up whatever they fancy. Certainly if the point of entry is Teesside. Good luck!
Old Oct 11th 2012, 2:46 pm
Forum Regular

Location: Enniskillen soon to be Clovis yes Clovis and not Fresno I repeat not Fresno!!!
Ryan NI will become famous soon enoughRyan NI will become famous soon enough