Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Process for obtaining SC Driver's Licence

Process for obtaining SC Driver's Licence

Old Jan 10th 2010, 8:11 pm
Just Joined

danemo58 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Process for obtaining SC Driver's Licence

Hi, I came across this site after googling a topic which was similar to one posted in this website. The responses didn't quite match my situation, so here goes with the question. I hope you can help.
I am not an expat, and do not work or live in the US. I am a UK resident and own a second, vacation only property in South Carolina. In August 2009, I purchased and successfully registered a used car for use when visiting. I successfully obtained reasonably priced insurance against my UK Driver's Licence. All good so far.
Last week, my insurer sent me a letter stating that my underwriter in SC was now obliged (by a change in State Law) to obtain US Driver's Licences from all of their clients.
I am hoping that as a property owner who can demonstrate payment of property taxes, and as the owner of a B1/B2 Visa which is valid until 2015, I can register for a US Driver's Licence, even though I do not work or reside there, or have a Social Security number.
I am looking for any relevant advice that you guys may be able to offer.
Thanks in advance.
Old Jan 10th 2010, 8:18 pm
Account Closed

ian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Process for obtaining SC Driver's Licence

Originally Posted by danemo58