Help!

Old May 27th 2011, 1:48 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 7
-nicole is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Help!

I am traveling to the US today, but my Canadian passport expired last month. Can I use my British passport to travel ?
-nicole is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 1:51 pm
  #2  
Grove 4 Life
 
SultanOfSwing's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Fox Lake, IL (from Carrickfergus NI)
Posts: 47,542
SultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by -nicole View Post
I am traveling to the US today, but my Canadian passport expired last month. Can I use my British passport to travel ?
You can use the British passport to travel as long as it has, I think 6 months left on it, but don't you now need to do a new ESTA for the different passport?

Someone more savvy than I am will likely be along to confirm, but I'm 99% sure you'll need to redo ESTA.
SultanOfSwing is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 1:53 pm
  #3  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 7
-nicole is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Help!

My British passport expires next year, so that should be fine? And yes, I'll have to renew my Canadian one asap.
Thanks!
-nicole is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 1:57 pm
  #4  
Grove 4 Life
 
SultanOfSwing's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Fox Lake, IL (from Carrickfergus NI)
Posts: 47,542
SultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by -nicole View Post
My British passport expires next year, so that should be fine? And yes, I'll have to renew my Canadian one asap.
Thanks!
The passport itself is OK - if you're British and entitled to have it you can travel on it.

If you are entering on the VWP, you will have had to complete ESTA - but did you have to enter your passport info when you did that? If so, then you'll need to do a new one for the Brit PP. You'll have to excuse me, I've never had to use ESTA as it's relatively new.
SultanOfSwing is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 1:58 pm
  #5  
Septicity
 
fatbrit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 23,762
fatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by SultanOfSwing View Post
You can use the British passport to travel as long as it has, I think 6 months left on it, but don't you now need to do a new ESTA for the different passport?

Someone more savvy than I am will likely be along to confirm, but I'm 99% sure you'll need to redo ESTA.
ESTA only required if travelling by air. OP does not state method of travel.
fatbrit is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 2:01 pm
  #6  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 7
-nicole is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by SultanOfSwing View Post
The passport itself is OK - if you're British and entitled to have it you can travel on it.

If you are entering on the VWP, you will have had to complete ESTA - but did you have to enter your passport info when you did that? If so, then you'll need to do a new one for the Brit PP. You'll have to excuse me, I've never had to use ESTA as it's relatively new.
I'm British, but I have never used it before so I don't really know anything about it.
I've never had to use ESTA before either.. Would I have to do it/have time if I am traveling later today?
-nicole is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 2:03 pm
  #7  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 7
-nicole is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by fatbrit View Post
ESTA only required if travelling by air. OP does not state method of travel.
Oh! I'm driving to Buffalo..
-nicole is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 2:05 pm
  #8  
Septicity
 
fatbrit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 23,762
fatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by -nicole View Post
Oh! I'm driving to Buffalo..
You don't need ESTA, then. Just a few bucks and a UK passport should work.
fatbrit is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 2:13 pm
  #9  
Grove 4 Life
 
SultanOfSwing's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Fox Lake, IL (from Carrickfergus NI)
Posts: 47,542
SultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond reputeSultanOfSwing has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by fatbrit View Post
ESTA only required if travelling by air. OP does not state method of travel.
True. I thought it prudent to mention but in this case it was irrelevant.
SultanOfSwing is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 2:43 pm
  #10  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,723
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by SultanOfSwing View Post
You can use the British passport to travel as long as it has, I think 6 months left on it, but don't you now need to do a new ESTA for the different passport?
There isn't a 6 month requirement, would only get stamped for the length the passport is valid though if it were less.
Bob is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 3:14 pm
  #11  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 150
bruceba has a spectacular aura aboutbruceba has a spectacular aura aboutbruceba has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by -nicole View Post
Oh! I'm driving to Buffalo..
Not much help, but i renewed in St. Catherines in one day.
bruceba is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 3:32 pm
  #12  
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 1,352
avanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond reputeavanutria has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by -nicole View Post
Oh! I'm driving to Buffalo..
My condolences.
avanutria is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 3:33 pm
  #13  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 7
-nicole is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by avanutria View Post
My condolences.
for what...?
-nicole is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 3:52 pm
  #14  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,723
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by -nicole View Post
for what...?
Buffalo
Bob is offline  
Old May 27th 2011, 3:52 pm
  #15  
 
meauxna's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 35,082
meauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help!

Originally Posted by Bob View Post
There isn't a 6 month requirement, would only get stamped for the length the passport is valid though if it were less.
Not so for UK passports.
meauxna is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.