Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Free UK Number Deal

Free UK Number Deal

Old Jul 21st 2006, 9:59 pm
  #1  
You Are All Diseased
Thread Starter
 
rincewind's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Farnham, UK
Posts: 4,511
rincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond repute
Default Free UK Number Deal

Has any one else had any problems with this?? I set up my UK number and my friends and family all tell me they have tried to call but it doesn't work??

Oh well, better stick with EquiTalk.
rincewind is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2006, 10:07 pm
  #2  
Banned
 
Lord Lionheart's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica,CA from Birmingham, UK
Posts: 18,402
Lord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Originally Posted by rincewind
Has any one else had any problems with this?? I set up my UK number and my friends and family all tell me they have tried to call but it doesn't work??

Oh well, better stick with EquiTalk.
Mine worked on the 3rd call, the previous 2 calls were all very poor static lines
Lord Lionheart is offline  
Old Jul 21st 2006, 10:58 pm
  #3  
Blondie22
 
blaze's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,738
blaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond reputeblaze has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Originally Posted by rincewind
Has any one else had any problems with this?? I set up my UK number and my friends and family all tell me they have tried to call but it doesn't work??

Oh well, better stick with EquiTalk.



No, but now I'm starting to have problems with Lingo.
blaze is offline  
Old Jul 22nd 2006, 3:19 am
  #4  
Forum Regular
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 97
Minty will become famous soon enoughMinty will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Originally Posted by rincewind
Has any one else had any problems with this?? I set up my UK number and my friends and family all tell me they have tried to call but it doesn't work??

Oh well, better stick with EquiTalk.
Go with Skype .... its great! 2c per minute. Last weekend was free calls to the UK ALL weekend to landline and mobiles.

And now you can buy a Skype WiFi phone so you don't have to sit at the computer.
Minty is offline  
Old Jul 22nd 2006, 3:51 am
  #5  
Ray
 
Ray's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 68,280
Ray has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

My mum can't get that new number to work ...she just will not accept
that she does not need 001 in front of it ....
Ray is offline  
Old Jul 22nd 2006, 4:16 am
  #6  
.
 
Yorkieabroad's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Where bad things rarely happen in movies
Posts: 8,933
Yorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Originally Posted by Minty
Go with Skype .... its great! 2c per minute. Last weekend was free calls to the UK ALL weekend to landline and mobiles.

And now you can buy a Skype WiFi phone so you don't have to sit at the computer.

Was just about to sign up on the free UK number deal - will let you know if it works for us...

Anyone heard anything about security issues on Skype? Wife's company sent an email round today saying that they're not allowed to have it on their work pc's due to security issues - if anyones interested, I can post the email, or you could wander over to my "IT Questions" thread that got moved to "The Lab" and its in full on there
Yorkieabroad is offline  
Old Jul 22nd 2006, 1:51 pm
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
suzimc's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Balmain, Sydney
Posts: 1,194
suzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond reputesuzimc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Originally Posted by Yorkieabroad
Was just about to sign up on the free UK number deal - will let you know if it works for us...

Anyone heard anything about security issues on Skype? Wife's company sent an email round today saying that they're not allowed to have it on their work pc's due to security issues - if anyones interested, I can post the email, or you could wander over to my "IT Questions" thread that got moved to "The Lab" and its in full on there
The company I worked for in the UK did the samething for the same reason with MSN - a couple of friends in IT told me this is because those sort of programs are likely to be the way that the next big viruses are spread.

I like skype but it does annoy me when 2 - 3 times a week I get some random person trying to contact me.
suzimc is offline  
Old Jul 22nd 2006, 11:18 pm
  #8  
You Are All Diseased
Thread Starter
 
rincewind's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Farnham, UK
Posts: 4,511
rincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond reputerincewind has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Actually, it seems I'm having the same issue as Ray. The muppets kept putting 001 at the front. Grrrrrrrr.

All working fine now and comes through better than EquiTalk did.

Tried Skype before. About as reliable as British buses.
rincewind is offline  
Old Jul 22nd 2006, 11:21 pm
  #9  
BE Forum Addict
 
tony126's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: SC
Posts: 4,153
tony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond reputetony126 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

No problems at all. Reception clear as a bell. As said prevously getting them to dial it as it given to them took a lot of believing, no problems though.
tony126 is offline  
Old Jul 22nd 2006, 11:43 pm
  #10  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Encino, CA. Via: Brighton, Norwich, Harlow
Posts: 101
Drebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of lightDrebin is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Couldn't be doing with the hassle of using a computer to call people with Skype.

The Bizon card at : http://www.cards4calling.com/ is even cheaper @ 1.9c a minute... I've been using it for a couple of months, it's nothing short of fantastic; call quality is like calling someone down the street! The one for the other direction (UK->USA) is only 1.5c a minute IIRC.
Drebin is offline  
Old Jul 22nd 2006, 11:46 pm
  #11  
Ray
 
Ray's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 68,280
Ray has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Originally Posted by rincewind
Actually, it seems I'm having the same issue as Ray. The muppets kept putting 001 at the front. Grrrrrrrr.
.
I had a feeling your prob was the same...
Ray is offline  
Old Jul 23rd 2006, 2:00 am
  #12  
Forum Regular
 
SueIP's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 137
SueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond reputeSueIP has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Try www.jajah.com

Called the UK today and it cost me $0
SueIP is offline  
Old Jul 23rd 2006, 2:18 am
  #13  
.
 
Yorkieabroad's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Where bad things rarely happen in movies
Posts: 8,933
Yorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

Originally Posted by rincewind
Actually, it seems I'm having the same issue as Ray. The muppets kept putting 001 at the front. Grrrrrrrr.

All working fine now and comes through better than EquiTalk did.

Tried Skype before. About as reliable as British buses.
What prolems did you have with skype? we've had it about 4 months now, and not had any problems at all - quality is generally fine (apart form when I call my mum for some reason..), never had any incoming wrong numbers like suzimc mentioned, and its saved me a packet. The computers on all day anyway, and we've got Skype hooked into our home phone, and so not tied to the computer, so th einconvenience factor hs never surfaced - I guess an overseas emergency call in the middle of the night may be an issue, but thats about it.

Still want to get this free UK # though as not been able to persuade any of the relatives to sign up to skype - still a fair few luddites in Yorkshire
Yorkieabroad is offline  
Old Jul 23rd 2006, 4:45 am
  #14  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,772
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Free UK Number Deal

I think because when it first came out, till about v1.5 it was kack for anything that wasn't puter to puter, but then got better, and latest versions work really well...where I use to volunteer, they used it for inter office calls between buildings because it was free and was really good quality...

Originally Posted by Yorkieabroad
What prolems did you have with skype? we've had it about 4 months now, and not had any problems at all - quality is generally fine (apart form when I call my mum for some reason..), never had any incoming wrong numbers like suzimc mentioned, and its saved me a packet. The computers on all day anyway, and we've got Skype hooked into our home phone, and so not tied to the computer, so th einconvenience factor hs never surfaced - I guess an overseas emergency call in the middle of the night may be an issue, but thats about it.

Still want to get this free UK # though as not been able to persuade any of the relatives to sign up to skype - still a fair few luddites in Yorkshire
Bob is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.