Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Do I need to file anything for 2017 ?

Do I need to file anything for 2017 ?

Old Mar 9th 2018, 3:58 pm
  #16  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 128
Chins is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Do I need to file anything for 2017 ?

Originally Posted by TheKingOfHearts View Post
TurboTax Deluxe should be able to walk you through this.
Thats what i started to use, but it doesnt offer an option for part year. Even upgraded to expert service and they said they couldnt sort and tried to pass me on elsewhere.
Chins is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 4:54 pm
  #17  
Lt (R)
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 49,404
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to file anything for 2017 ?

Originally Posted by Chins View Post
Thats what i started to use, but it doesnt offer an option for part year. Even upgraded to expert service and they said they couldnt sort and tried to pass me on elsewhere.
That gas been reported here on BE previously - that the popular tax prep software packages don't offer a split year function, so it sounds like nothing has changed for 2017.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 5:07 pm
  #18  
BE Forum Addict
 
tom169's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2015
Location: NC, USA (ex Yorkshire)
Posts: 4,152
tom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to file anything for 2017 ?

From memory HR Block were the only ones that supported dual status. I opted to MFJ and be a resident for the entire year instead.
tom169 is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 5:08 pm
  #19  
BE Forum Addict
 
tom169's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2015
Location: NC, USA (ex Yorkshire)
Posts: 4,152
tom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to file anything for 2017 ?

Originally Posted by Noorah101 View Post
Really? I could have sworn my husband chose to be non residence for all of 2004, the year he came to the USA in April.

I could be wrong.

Rene
Didn't your husband come on a K-1? Specifically the rule catching Chins out is that he was on a CR-1 and got permanent residency mid year.
tom169 is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 6:33 pm
  #20  
MODERATOR
 
Noorah101's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 58,252
Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do I need to file anything for 2017 ?

Originally Posted by tom169 View Post
Didn't your husband come on a K-1? Specifically the rule catching Chins out is that he was on a CR-1 and got permanent residency mid year.
Ah, I see. Yes, my hubby came on a K-1 and didn't get his green card until 2005.

Thanks,
Rene
Noorah101 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.