Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Buying new power cables

Buying new power cables

Old Dec 29th 2013, 9:10 pm
  #16  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 130
mwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Buying new power cables

both Lowes and Home Depot sell replacement plugs
Have you seen how much they want for a replacement plug?
You can buy the ready made cable online for much less.
mwdake is offline  
Old Dec 29th 2013, 9:11 pm
  #17  
Banned
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,154
hungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by md95065 View Post
£26 for an HDMI cable, while not cheap, is not an unreasonable price in either the UK or the US.

$1,099 for a 10' AC power cord is insane.

I don't doubt that it is a good quality power cable - it just isn't worth over $1,000.
Yep, completely agree there. I think that cable is aimed at businesses such as theater's, or millionaires who are kitting out their home theater.
hungryhorace is offline  
Old Dec 29th 2013, 9:16 pm
  #18  
BE Forum Addict
 
Guindalf's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,903
Guindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying new power cables

You could always get these speaker cables.
Guindalf is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 5:13 am
  #19  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 264
Markie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by hungryhorace View Post
Yep, completely agree there. I think that cable is aimed at businesses such as theater's, or millionaires who are kitting out their home theater.
It's aimed at millionaires. No business would waste money on such a thing! It's just a joke.

Now, as for the person who said you can't get rewireable NEMA (Edison/US) plugs - you absolutely can! They're not cheap though, usually new moulded cables are cheaper.

US plugs are not fused because we don't use ring wiring here.
Markie is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 2:23 pm
  #20  
L/R
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 49,521
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by markuhde View Post
.... US plugs are not fused because we don't use ring wiring here.
"We don't use fuses in our plugs because the socket is connected to the breaker box by two different cables in parallel", sounds suspiciously like a nonsequiteur to me. Please can you explain?

I have a fair amount of cabling experience, including rewiring the ring mains in my house in the UK, but I can't immediately see the connection between ring mains and the need for fuses.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 3:12 pm
  #21  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 91
DexterBerkeley is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Buying new power cables

I would recommend holding on to a couple of the UK cables. I use my UK cables and chargers when going back to the UK, just seems easier to me than using adapters.
DexterBerkeley is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 3:27 pm
  #22  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 130
mwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of lightmwdake is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Ring circuits are capable of providing more amperage than an individual appliance cable can handle and the main fuse for the circuit will be much higher than a radial circuit like in the US or Europe. So, in order to protect each appliance and its cable the plug on a ring circuit is fused at a much lower rating than the main fuse on the ring.
mwdake is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 3:55 pm
  #23  
L/R
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 49,521
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by mwdake View Post
Ring circuits are capable of providing more amperage than an individual appliance cable can handle and the main fuse for the circuit will be much higher than a radial circuit like in the US or Europe. So, in order to protect each appliance and its cable the plug on a ring circuit is fused at a much lower rating than the main fuse on the ring.
Interesting. So the US system is pretty much dependent on there being a breaker box with dozens of breakers, and wiring many more sockets onto a thicker cable with a higher value breaker would cause safety issues. Hmmm.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 3:58 pm
  #24  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 264
Markie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
"We don't use fuses in our plugs because the socket is connected to the breaker box by two different cables in parallel", sounds suspiciously like a nonsequiteur to me. Please can you explain?

I have a fair amount of cabling experience, including rewiring the ring mains in my house in the UK, but I can't immediately see the connection between ring mains and the need for fuses.
As mwdake explained, I highly oversimplified. It's not the fact they're ring circuits per se, it's the fact the circuit breaker is a much higher current rating.

In US wiring, the circuit breaker is usually 20A. While much higher than the rating of appliance zip cord, the zip cord can handle that for a tiny amount of time in the case of a gross fault - just long enough for the breaker to trip.

In the UK, the breaker rating is usually 32A - a current appliance cord shouldn't be subject to even instantaneously, because it's more likely it won't carry that much current, overheat, and start a fire than it is that it will actually let that much current through for an instant to trip the breaker.

Hope that helps!

P.S. ring wiring has safety issues too - mostly if half the ring breaks, you won't know until you've overloaded the other half and started a fire. Both systems have pros and cons. Both are equally safe when in good repair, and both can fail in different, equally catastrophic, ways.
Markie is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 4:10 pm
  #25  
L/R
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 49,521
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by markuhde View Post
...... ring wiring has safety issues too - mostly if half the ring breaks, you won't know until you've overloaded the other half and started a fire. .....
I realised that a few years ago, while explaining the British ring-main system to a licensed electrician here in the US, who was doing some wiring work for me. .... When I rewired my house in the UK I tested the completeness of the ring before connecting it to the fuse box.
Pulaski is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 4:16 pm
  #26  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 264
Markie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
I realised that a few years ago, while explaining the British ring-main system to a licensed electrician here in the US, who was doing some wiring work for me. .... When I rewired my house in the UK I tested the completeness of the ring before connecting it to the fuse box.
Well, obviously you test things at install time. The problem is wiring can and does fail. All the time. British wiring fails in a very silent way - you don't necessarily realise it fails until the whole ring is overloaded and the result can be catastrophic.

The wiring in the rest of the world (let's not just say American here, ring circuits are pretty uniquely British and places heavily British-influenced thing - Republic of Ireland, Indonesia, Singapore, etc) aka radial circuits, well, failure can be just as catastrophic but you'll usually know closer to the time of the failure. IDEALLY, it won't be quite as catastrophic since if you are lucky the circuit will break completely instead of coming loose, thus won't get overloaded and cause a fire. That's often not reality though, the truth is both systems fail in deadly ways.
Markie is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 4:58 pm
  #27  
BE Commentator
 
S Folinsky's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 7,448
S Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
Interesting. So the US system is pretty much dependent on there being a breaker box with dozens of breakers, and wiring many more sockets onto a thicker cable with a higher value breaker would cause safety issues. Hmmm.
This has been a topic of discussion in the past. There are a fair number of on-line articles -- Google is your friend. There are historical reasons for the differences.

The UK ring circuit was introduced as a method of using less copper in the wiring. [BTW, be careful when purchasing houses wired with aluminum wire in the US from the late 60's to mid-70's].
S Folinsky is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 5:00 pm
  #28  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 264
Markie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by S Folinsky View Post
This has been a topic of discussion in the past. There are a fair number of on-line articles -- Google is your friend. There are historical reasons for the differences.

The UK ring circuit was introduced as a method of using less copper in the wiring. [BTW, be careful when purchasing houses wired with aluminum wire in the US from the late 60's to mid-70's].
Ah, aluminum wiring, now THAT is some scary stuff!
Markie is offline  
Old Dec 30th 2013, 11:19 pm
  #29  
 
Cardienscarf's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Dancing round my handbag
Posts: 2,672
Cardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond reputeCardienscarf has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by Samiad View Post
Hi,

Rather than take all my UK power cables (the mainstream ones like http://www.cables2u.co.uk/images/pro...ower_cable.jpg and http://www.crazycables.co.uk/catalog...s/l_50.139.jpg) and use loads of adapters I'm considering leaving all my UK cables behind and just buying a bulk load of US style cables.

Has anyone any good sources of these cables? Buying from a place that sells one at a time is probably going to be expensive, but if I could buy a bulk lot of 10 or 20 it would probably be workable. Has anyone else done this?
I just left a bunch behind - we could've done a swap. There have been a few occasions when I've thought how useful it would be if the MBTTUK people and the About to Move Abroad people could co-ordinate swapping useful gear.
Cardienscarf is offline  
Old Dec 31st 2013, 12:40 am
  #30  
BE Forum Addict
 
steveq's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: State College Pa.
Posts: 1,535
steveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond reputesteveq has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying new power cables

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
I realised that a few years ago, while explaining the British ring-main system to a licensed electrician here in the US, who was doing some wiring work for me. .... When I rewired my house in the UK I tested the completeness of the ring before connecting it to the fuse box.
If you're interested, I have a very interesting discussion paper on ring v. radial circuits presented at the IEE a couple of years ago. Its not terribly technical, but comes down in favour of modern circuits being radials.
steveq is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.