Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

VWP: Arrest (no charges), study less than 90 days

VWP: Arrest (no charges), study less than 90 days

Old Sep 12th 2010, 10:30 pm
Just Joined

Kieran24 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default VWP: Arrest (no charges), study less than 90 days

Hi everyone, this is my first post here, and I am hoping maybe someone could lend some advice on my immigration issue. Thanks in advance.

I am a law graduate of a UK university and intend taking the NY Bar Exam at the end of the year, by taking classes in NY state from Dec 2010 to Feb 2011, and the Bar exam itself in February. I am an Irish citizen resident in N.I. (UK jurisdiction).

I have also run into a legal issue at home, that being an arrest in the UK in April for assault on a minor. No assault took place, the whole situation the result of a malicious phone call from the local nutcase (no other word for it really), who accused me of assaulting her 15 year old son on the street.

I was arrested, released on bail pending inquiries, and the case was quickly dismissed by the DPP (local equiv of the Crown Prosecution Service) after the decision that there was no case and no prosecution would be sought. I received a letter to this effect in June/July. I have no criminal convictions, have never been in any sort of legal trouble until being subjected to this. Perhaps unrelated, the case is being looked at by the Police Ombudsman following my filing of a complaint.

So, my situation is dependent on two factors:

1) Whether studying and taking a Bar exam (which would all in take less than 90 days) would preclude me from travel under the VWP.

2) Whether the arresr would preclude me from traveling under the VWP.