overstay help please

Old Jun 21st 2002, 2:20 am
Agentb

Default overstay help please

can anybody help I have called six lawyers and everybody tells me somthing different,
I met a girl while she was on a vacation visa from trinidad, she overstayed by more
then a year. We want to get married and come back to the USA, what is the best
approach to this matter, is there a waiver that can be used or am I just screwed, I
am considering moving there , I am a US citizen....all advice welcome

Old Jun 21st 2002, 3:20 am
Lord Hamster

Default Re: overstay help please

Please don't take my advise to seriously as I'm by no means an expert... this is just
what I've heard:

If you overstay by 6 months, an automatic 3 year bar to entry kicks in. If you
overstay for 1 year, the bar becomes a 10 year bar.

HOWEVER: I believe that marriage to a US citizen cures many of these problems. I
belive I heard once that if the infraction is simply an overstay, marriage to a USC
can fix it. But again... this is just heresay. I'd like to see some confirmation from
the group.

"Agentb" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
    > can anybody help I have called six lawyers and everybody tells me somthing
    > different, I met a girl while she was on a vacation visa from trinidad,
she
    > overstayed by more then a year. We want to get married and come back to
the
    > USA, what is the best approach to this matter, is there a waiver that can
be
    > used or am I just screwed, I am considering moving there , I am a US citizen....all
    > advice welcome

Old Jun 21st 2002, 5:20 am
Mrtravel

Lord Hamster wrote:

> Please don't take my advise to seriously as I'm by no means an expert... this is
    > just what I've heard:
    >
    > If you overstay by 6 months, an automatic 3 year bar to entry kicks in. If you
    > overstay for 1 year, the bar becomes a 10 year bar.

He would need a waiver proving "hardship" by INS standards. So, he would go through