Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

My Musician's Life - Need Help With Some Details

Wikiposts

My Musician's Life - Need Help With Some Details

Old Apr 21st 2010, 12:41 am
Just Joined

simeonasmith is an unknown quantity at this point
Default My Musician's Life - Need Help With Some Details

First off, let me introduce myself. I'm Simeon, I'm 19 years old from a reasonably well-off family in Surrey.

I'm a talented classical musician, started the piano aged three, and currently sitting on a pile of successful music exams including Grade 8 Oboe, 2 Piano Diplomas and Grade 8 Theory.

My life for the next two years will be devoted to completing my degree at Oxford University in Music which, with any luck, will result in my acquisition of one of the most highly prestigious music degrees in Europe.

---

Now, this is where reality ends and dreams begin.

First of all, I don't want to stay in this grotty country a minute longer than I have to. (I'm sure I'm in good company saying this on a website called British Expats).

My ultimate goal is to get employment as a composer/orchestrator in the Los Angeles area writing primarily for film and TV.

I have several plans that potentially get me where I want to be: The first is further education. There are several fantastic courses in film composition in LA based institutions - USC and UCLA spring immediately to mind.

My trouble with this is the F-1 student visa. This is a temporary, non-imigration visa and several sources (such as this one on solutionsinlaw.co.uk) say "The Visa officer will require evidence showing that the prospective student has strong ties to their home country as assurance of temporary intent to stay within the United States."