H1B to GC - how long

Old Jul 10th 2008, 5:45 pm
Forum Regular

patemaan will become famous soon enough
Default H1B to GC - how long

Hi all,

I am in the USA on a H1B, I have a BSc in Computer Science and 10 yr of IT experience.

My question is if my company files for my H1B ( which they are going to do)
how long does it take to process?

Also, if the company files my GC and another company makes me a better offer, can I switch? can my GC still be processed?

PM
Old Jul 10th 2008, 5:54 pm
Account Closed

Folinskyinla is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: H1B to GC - how long

Originally Posted by patemaan
Hi all,

I am in the USA on a H1B, I have a BSc in Computer Science and 10 yr of IT experience.

Also, if the company files my GC and another company makes me a better offer, can I switch? can my GC still be processed?

PM
Hi:

Extremely good general questions. I hope you don't expect a brief and meaningful answer.
Old Jul 10th 2008, 5:56 pm
Forum Regular

kel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to beholdkel.n.issy is a splendid one to behold

Depending which catagory you fall into (probably eb3) and your home country your in for a long wait (years and years). My understanding is that you have to stay with the company that applies for your greencard until you get EAD then you can change. If you decide to swap before this time you start the process over agin.

Correct me if I am wrong I am only going off personal experience...
Old Jul 10th 2008, 6:25 pm
Forum Regular