H1-B jobs -- how to find one?

Old Apr 21st 2009, 9:35 am
Just Joined

Jim_S is an unknown quantity at this point
Default H1-B jobs -- how to find one?

Just starting to look into getting a work visa for the US.

Having done a mornings research it's looking like it would be the ultimate long-shot, but it's something I'd like to try.

My main question is: how do you find H1-B jobs? Is there a Government list? I turned up loads of paid subscription sites when searching -- is that the only way to go?

I assume H1-B is the only realistic way for me to go? I'm a Graphic Designer (I assume that slips into category 141 - Commercial Artists) with a BSc (though not in design) and coming up on 10 years commercial experience.

Thanks in advance for any guidance.
Old Apr 21st 2009, 10:46 am
BE Enthusiast

caleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond reputecaleyjag has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: H1-B jobs -- how to find one?

There have been several posts similar to this one in the past week. Have a look around.

There is no such thing as a list of companies that sponsor H1 visas. The websites you see are scams. A company will hire you based on your specific skills, however it is costly and time consuming for them to do so, so you are going to have to offer something very special that the average graphic designer doesn't have.

Also, remember that H1 visas only allow you to start in October each year (with the application generally filed by April), so you are not going to be an appropriate hire for a company wanting you to start in a timely manner.
Old Apr 21st 2009, 1:09 pm
BE Forum Addict