E1/E2 Visa

Old Sep 17th 2010, 4:55 am
Just Joined

racer26 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default E1/E2 Visa

Hello , new to BritishExpats.com here,

I have found some interesting posts on this forum and have found some knowledge I've been seeking in regards to E1/E2 and L1 visa's. So I thought I'd maybe share my experience so far with my US work visa and where I'm sitting on things. ( I'm Canadian coming to the US from Canada )

Sorry for being long winded but I'll try to include all information.

Currently I am a manager at a large vehicle dealership in Canada, I've been working at the dealership for over 10 years and it's a family owned organization that has been established for around 20+ years. Aprox 80 full-time employee's and 20 employee's in other divisions. Over the last 3 years with the state of the US economy and what has happened with the recession our dealership started looking at purchasing vehicles state side for sale in Canada. At first it was a unit here or there but has since grown into a larger operation. Over the last 2 years the operation has been successful weathering the economic condition's.

So after buying numerous vehicles in the US (150+ in 2 years ) we started exploring the option of opening a branch for our dealership in the US. What we were finding is that alot of units we bought had to be stored/refurbished/transported before they were ready to be brought into Canada. It's a job within it's self gathering these vehicles for transport because we typically buy vehicles from all major cities in the south west side of the country. Also with the contacts i've established exporting the vehicles, I now have Canadian ( alot of snowbirds) and American customers located in the US.