Rejected GTP teacher

Old Oct 7th 2005, 4:01 pm
Forum Regular

claire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really nice
Unhappy Rejected GTP teacher

Hi there,

I'm a ICT secondary school teacher in the UK. I have a degree in computing and IT and qualified as a techer via the GTP route. I have also completed my NQT year and have a total of 3 years teaching experience.

I applied to the Nova Scotia department of education for a teaching certificate. I recieved a reply stating that my training did not meet the requirements of sections:

30D(b) a minimum of a 2 year (60 credit hours) program of professional teacher education

30S for a bridging teachers certificate as this requires a minimum of 30 credit hours of theory!

How dissapointing

Claire
Old Oct 7th 2005, 8:04 pm
Remya

Default Re: Rejected GTP teacher

Sorry, but I could've told you before you applied that the GTP isn't accepted here in Canada. It caused quite a bit of fuss on the TES board but at the end of the day, c'est la vie. Sorry to hear it, though.

Old Oct 8th 2005, 1:42 pm
Forum Regular

claire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really niceclaire600 is just really nice

Remya

Are you telling me no GTP teachers have ever received a teaching certificate in Canada?

My understanding was it depends which province you apply to ... wouldn't it make it easier if the requirements stated NO GTP teachers, if that is the case.

Claire
Old Oct 9th 2005, 1:15 am
JAJ
Retired