UK TV again

Old Apr 15th 2010, 9:08 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Tinky's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: La Linea
Posts: 76
Tinky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK TV again

Hi all,

We have just moved to a new place and our very kind landlady arranged for Sky to be installed. However instead of Sky we have got Televes box, aligned for astra 2a.

With ITV we cannot get any signal after 7ish in the evening, not helped by the clouds. I read somewhere you can get stronger signal if you have a sky box and viewing card.

So my question is, would the connection points be the same, so we can just swop the Televes receiver with a Sky box? And will it make a difference?

Thanks
Tinky is offline  
Old Apr 15th 2010, 9:24 pm
  #2  
Was called something else
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,935
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK TV again

The televes box will be picking up the free to air (i no sky card) versions of ITV.
Assuming you have a decent sized dish for your location, then there are some ITV1 regions that go off earlier then others - as the ITV channels are split between about 6 differnet frequencies over 2 different satellites.

as you can see from
ITV Channels and Frequencies

You could try ITV STV / CI on 10905 v 22 5/6 - the regions on there are generally known to be a bit stronger - of course it depends which ITV region you are refering to as going off at 7pm!

As long as you have a decent sized dish (upwards from 80cm) then you can, with a sky card, get ITV on frequency 11973,v,27.5 2/3, C4s on 12480 v 27.5 2/3 and fives 12422 h 27.5 2/3.

Sp yes, as your dish is pointing to the correct satellites (as you can get the FTA versions of ITV) then its a case of swapping over the televes box over to the sky box with an active sky card (freesatfromsky (£20 uk - more in Spain) or a sky subscription card (£18 per month)

Last edited by The Guy; Apr 15th 2010 at 9:31 pm.
The Guy is offline  
Old Apr 15th 2010, 9:42 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Tinky's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: La Linea
Posts: 76
Tinky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK TV again

Thank you! I will have a bit of fun trying to get ITV STV / CI as they are not showing on the list of available ITV channels. The last region we can view is ITV London, the others disappears a little bit before that.

I am going to the UK next week, so may just get a Sky box then, and even treat hubby to a HD box, as I am sure with the world cup coming up, there will be some games showing in HD

Thanks again for your reply Guy!
Tinky is offline  
Old Apr 15th 2010, 9:55 pm
  #4  
Was called something else
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,935
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK TV again

If you can get ITV London you may find ITV STV / CI stays about 30mins to an hour longer.
It may not be in your channel list so you will have to manually add it - by going into the menus and scanning the frequency 10905..

Rember if you are going for a Sky HD box, then to use the hard drive funcions (to record and playback ) you MUST pay sky somehting per month.
But even if you do not you will have access to BBC HD, ITV HD and C4 HD - and later this year Five HD - with no subscription (the last three requireing freesatfromsky card at least).

I have a list of the games that are on BBC and ITV...
BBC and ITV World Cup 2010 Matches
and i am sure they will be on HD.
And even SPAIN has games in 3d (D+), but the UK broadcasters do not (i dont think BBC and ITV will let Sky put them in 3d on their 3d channel!)
The Guy is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2010, 7:04 am
  #5  
Concierge
 
mikelincs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: ex ex-pat, in Taunton
Posts: 27,203
mikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK TV again

There is a thread in 'The Lounge' stating that UK TV may soon be very difficult to get outside of the UK because of changes to the Astra Satellite.

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showthread.php?t=664182
mikelincs is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2010, 7:08 am
  #6  
Was called something else
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,935
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK TV again

mixed news and speculation at the moment - the "news" is uptodate as Astra have not confirmed where the new satellite is going!
The Guy is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2010, 7:09 am
  #7  
¿Dónde estoy?
 
lynnxa's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: my paradise - Jávea
Posts: 13,330
lynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond reputelynnxa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK TV again

Originally Posted by mikelincs
There is a thread in 'The Lounge' stating that UK TV may soon be very difficult to get outside of the UK because of changes to the Astra Satellite.

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showthread.php?t=664182
he posted it here too

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showp...3&postcount=12 but mitzy snipped it
lynnxa is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2010, 7:11 am
  #8  
Was called something else
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,935
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK TV again

Originally Posted by lynnxa
he posted it here too

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showp...3&postcount=12 but mitzy snipped it
Best to read the whole thread - not just one post

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showthread.php?t=662820

its just speculation - as nothing has been confirmed by Astra and even the original source says its destination is unknown.

and as UK TV comes from 4 satellites, one not even owned by astra, you will not lose everything!
i am not saying nothing will hppen - it just that it is speculation based on a post whose information has now been updated!

Last edited by The Guy; Apr 16th 2010 at 7:14 am.
The Guy is offline  
Old Apr 16th 2010, 10:48 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Tinky's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: La Linea
Posts: 76
Tinky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK TV again

No joy ITV CI is no better, so a Sky box seems to be our only hope if we want ITV.


Thanks for the links as well and all your help xx
Tinky is offline  
Old Apr 17th 2010, 7:10 am
  #10  
Was called something else
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,935
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK TV again

Of course, if you had a bigger dish then you would be able to receive the free to air - no sky card - versions of ITV ok - if there is space and money and landlard allows!
The Guy is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.