Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Old Mar 14th 2010, 8:32 am
  #16  
Was called something else
Thread Starter
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,939
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Originally Posted by lunacrout
We started to find that we were losing channels or that they were fluctuating - now we seem to have permanently lost BBC2, 3 & 4 plus BBC news, Channel 4 and 5 and most radio programmes.

We still receive BBC1, Channel4+1 and other C4 progs. ITV1 fluctuates but we get ITV2 & 3 etc.

I see by the posts above that some tuning details have changed - does anyone know if & how we can get these channels back - I don't want to miss University Clallenge tomorrow
Well firstly, BBC2,3,4 and BBC news have nothing to do with the cards - you have not needed a card for these BBC channels for over 7 years now.

BBC2,3,4 are on weaker horizontal frequencies and are very alignment specific. They are only available on one frequency - so no alternates for them i am afraid.

The free to air versions of C4 and Five are also on the weaker horizontal beam, but alternates are available - if you have a sky card - on 12480 v and 12422 h....add them to your other channel just like you can with the ITV1s on 12408 v or 11973 v...

BBC News is different. Its on a much stronger satellite beam, and should be easily available over most of europe on a 60cm dish. Again, its only available on one frequency - so no alternates for them i am afraid.

(BBC news, Parliament and Alba and most BBC radios are all on the same frequency)

So no retuning is required as it will do nothing!

Normally, I have found that if people have been losing these BBC TV channels and the BBC radios, then they have Grundig sky box whose power supply is failing.....

So can you confirm you dish size and reciever make and model.....if its Grundig then thats power supply is failing - they can be repaired, or get another box!

Originally Posted by jo-ann
We have recently began to lose all of the ITV stations 1,2.3 and 4 every evening for around 5 hours. We can get ITV1 by using the other channels method as described, but is there any other frequency's for 2,3 and 4.?
ITV2,3,4 are only available on one frequency and one frequency only.
ITV1 has various frequencies for the 20 or so regional variations of ITV1, but ITV2,3,4 do not have regional variations, and so do not have alternate frequencies.

Get your dish looked at, as it may require realignment, or LNB change, or spiders in the LNB or bad cable issues or receiver issues.....

Last edited by The Guy; Mar 14th 2010 at 8:38 am.
The Guy is offline  
Old Mar 17th 2010, 12:54 am
  #17  
BE Enthusiast
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 300
derek500 has a spectacular aura aboutderek500 has a spectacular aura aboutderek500 has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

ITVHD now testing on 10832H (Astra 2D) with name 10000.
derek500 is offline  
Old Mar 17th 2010, 10:53 pm
  #18  
BE Enthusiast
 
painterhombre's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 536
painterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nicepainterhombre is just really nice
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

if i got a sky card, there is a card slot at the side of our digital TV. If i got one and put it in there, would we get more channels?
painterhombre is offline  
Old Mar 18th 2010, 4:20 am
  #19  
BE Enthusiast
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 300
derek500 has a spectacular aura aboutderek500 has a spectacular aura aboutderek500 has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Originally Posted by painterhombre
if i got a sky card, there is a card slot at the side of our digital TV. If i got one and put it in there, would we get more channels?
No.
derek500 is offline  
Old Mar 18th 2010, 7:45 am
  #20  
Was called something else
Thread Starter
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,939
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Sky cards are designed for use in Sky boxes.
although some other boxes do read them noone knows yet for sure the impact of new sky encryption means....

You can get a "cam" for sky cards, that may fit into a PCMAI slot on the TV, but this may not work 100%, and you would not get the advantage of the sky EPG.....
The Guy is offline  
Old Mar 22nd 2010, 10:56 am
  #21  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
lunacrout is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Originally Posted by The Guy
Normally, I have found that if people have been losing these BBC TV channels and the BBC radios, then they have Grundig sky box whose power supply is failing.....

So can you confirm your dish size and reciever make and model.....if its Grundig then thats power supply is failing - they can be repaired, or get another box!

..
Hi there - since my previous post my OH went and tightened up some loose bolts and adjusted the thingy that sticks out the front of the dish
(sorry don't know the technical name ) and we started to receive the channels again for a few days.

Yesterday we lost them once more so he went and twiddled the thingy again and it's still erratic - ie - we couldn't get the channels all day and now suddenly, at 11.30pm they're all back!!! (I missed Univerity Challenge again )

The dish is 1.3 metres, the receiver is a Pace Sky Digi box DV3.

The messages we get when we can't receive the channels are either 'There is a technical fault with this channel - please try later' and 'No satellite signal is being received'

Also, for the last couple of days, the background on the menu page is all pixilated.

.
lunacrout is offline  
Old Mar 22nd 2010, 11:10 am
  #22  
Was called something else
Thread Starter
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,939
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Dish alignment is critical...even mm makes a difference.

as is the "skew" or angle of the "the thingy that sticks out the front of the dish " = otherwise known as an LMB - Low Noise Block.

Having the wrong skew of the LNB can dramatically reduce channels....again we are talking mms...

Pixelation of the backgound means yu have had a very bvrief power cut - and the box did not shut down and restrt properly.

Unplug from the main, leave for a few seconds,m and reaply the pwoer. and the pixelations should go (this may also cure some "missing channels")
The Guy is offline  
Old Mar 22nd 2010, 11:18 am
  #23  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
lunacrout is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Originally Posted by The Guy
Dish alignment is critical...even mm makes a difference.

as is the "skew" or angle of the "the thingy that sticks out the front of the dish " = otherwise known as an LMB - Low Noise Block.

Having the wrong skew of the LNB can dramatically reduce channels....again we are talking mms...

Pixelation of the backgound means yu have had a very bvrief power cut - and the box did not shut down and restrt properly.

Unplug from the main, leave for a few seconds,m and reaply the pwoer. and the pixelations should go (this may also cure some "missing channels")
Thank you for your swift reply-we just tried the unplug tip and yes-we've lost the pixilations but we've now lost all the satellite signals
lunacrout is offline  
Old Mar 22nd 2010, 11:36 am
  #24  
Was called something else
Thread Starter
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,939
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

in which case you may have to help the reciever boot up by changing the default transponder frequecncy from 11778 to any other frequency to heklp the box download the information it nend to work....

http://www.satandpcguy.com/Site/sky_...anca_spain.php

and if you need to do this process at this time of day after a box reboot then you need to get your dish aligned and LNB set up correctly!

Last edited by The Guy; Mar 22nd 2010 at 11:39 am.
The Guy is offline  
Old Mar 22nd 2010, 8:36 pm
  #25  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Malaga
Posts: 286
surreygirl will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Oh dear I started a new thread about this. With the right disc and receiver plus the correct LNB and alignment what programs should or can I get from Orba!! anyone know. Only get sky news at the moment!
surreygirl is offline  
Old Mar 22nd 2010, 9:00 pm
  #26  
Banned
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Costa Blanca
Posts: 309
Tele Addict is a jewel in the roughTele Addict is a jewel in the roughTele Addict is a jewel in the roughTele Addict is a jewel in the roughTele Addict is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Originally Posted by derek500
Looks like because of these changes, ITV HD is moving from Eurobird to Astra 2d, 10832 H.

Shame it's not going to be on a vertical transponder.

At least from April 2 Sky HD users will be able to record it.
ITV HD is also on 2B South 11973 V 27500 2/3. Fresatfromsky card needed.
Tele Addict is offline  
Old Mar 22nd 2010, 9:13 pm
  #27  
jdr
RETIRED ;-))
 
jdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Benalmadena Pueblo,Spain
Posts: 20,156
jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Update on card activation from Spain.
Phoned on UK mobile, got straight through to Scottish guy at 22.30, activated in ten minutes, asked for card address, box make and version number, serial number.
Daughters card, phoned next morning in case we got same person and got Scottish lady this time, did not activate within two hours, so re phoned and they said it was caused by a freeze but sorted it straight away.
jdr is offline  
Old Mar 23rd 2010, 4:52 am
  #28  
Was called something else
Thread Starter
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,939
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Originally Posted by surreygirl
Oh dear I started a new thread about this. With the right disc and receiver plus the correct LNB and alignment what programs should or can I get from Orba!! anyone know. Only get sky news at the moment!
you can get from 150 up to about 500plus channels, depending on dish size receiver and subscription....assuming you want the UK TV satellites - on other satellites oyu can get about 700plus free tv channels - ok they are arabic, french, german, etc...

Something must be very wrong if you can only get Sky News!!!

Even on an 80cm dish in Orba you shouldbe abale to get at least 150plus other channels, inclufding BBC News, True MOvies, some moviesformen, bbc stream etc...

Even on the Astra1 "European satellite" there are a number of english channels available!

Originally Posted by Tele Addict
ITV HD is also on 2B South 11973 V 27500 2/3. Fresatfromsky card needed.
There is definately somehting on that frequency that is in HD, but noone has seen what it is yet! both 7480 and 7841 have been showing a number of info banners, but noone, from what i have seen, has actually seen any TV programems on there yet!

Last edited by The Guy; Mar 23rd 2010 at 5:25 am.
The Guy is offline  
Old Jun 4th 2010, 9:14 pm
  #29  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
phyllis is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

how do you get ITV1 on 'other channels'
phyllis is offline  
Old Jun 4th 2010, 9:58 pm
  #30  
Was called something else
Thread Starter
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,939
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Stronger ITV1 frequency....

Press services, 4 and 4 to add the ITV1 regions using the frequencies in the earlier posts.

(12402 v and 11973 v require a sky card to view)

To access the channels Press Services and Other Channels.

all covered in

http://www.satandpcguy.com/Site/extr...annels_sky.php

Last edited by The Guy; Jun 4th 2010 at 10:03 pm.
The Guy is offline  

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.