Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Seguridad social & Higher level... what are the benefits?

Seguridad social & Higher level... what are the benefits?

Old Nov 19th 2010, 8:35 am
BE Forum Addict

angiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond reputeangiescarr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Seguridad social & Higher level... what are the benefits?

I've been paying my social security as an 'Autonomo' for about 8 months now at the rate of 270 a month. I've just collected my temporary Tarjeta de salud and now I get 60% off my medicines. I know I can also get a tooth pulled free but have to pay for any other dental treatment.
Can anyone tell me what else I'm covered for at this level...and what would happen if I got ill. I'm worried because my husband is unemployed at present and we're struggling a bit. Hopefully I'll stay fit and well and able to work forever! But a recent bout of Arthritis has worried me. If I had a sudden serious illness Would everything come tumbling down around us? or is there sickness benefit to ease the immediate problems? And would I be fully covered for hospital visits/stays?
I also know that there is a higher level of payments.
What would that be/cover for? Seeing as things are tight already I don't think I can find more but I am worrying.
I know I could trawl the internet for this information but if anyone can short-cut my search for me I'd be grateful.
Old Nov 19th 2010, 9:11 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace