Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Do UK playstations work in Spain

Do UK playstations work in Spain

Old Aug 26th 2004, 7:19 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
caronp is an unknown quantity at this point
Cool Do UK playstations work in Spain

My sister has emigrated to Spain and I have recently given her a PSOne. She can get a good picture but cant get sound. Someone told me that UK Pal is different from Spanish PAL and it wont work.

Is this true. Can't I get an adaptor or something to make it work?
undefinedundefined
caronp is offline  
Old Aug 26th 2004, 7:38 pm
  #2  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 92,092
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do UK playstations work in Spain

Originally Posted by caronp
My sister has emigrated to Spain and I have recently given her a PSOne. She can get a good picture but cant get sound. Someone told me that UK Pal is different from Spanish PAL and it wont work.

Is this true. Can't I get an adaptor or something to make it work?
undefinedundefined
More to do with the image, if you can get that, could just mean you have a dodgy sound cable, try another one, or plug the sound in through the vcr rather than the tele
Bob is offline  
Old Aug 26th 2004, 11:18 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 74
PBC_1966 will become famous soon enoughPBC_1966 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Do UK playstations work in Spain

If you're connecting via direct video and audio outputs, there should be no problem, so it's most likely a bad cable or connection.

If the unit in question has an RF output which you're trying to tune on a Spanish TV, then it won't work. The British system has the audio carrier set at 6MHz above vision, the Spanish is at 5.5MHz.
PBC_1966 is offline  
Old Aug 28th 2004, 1:30 pm
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Alhaurin el Grande, Malaga
Posts: 1,081
bfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do UK playstations work in Spain

a ps1 will have either a scart lead or an ariel lead. one or the other. if you plug the scart into the tv, it should work perfectly on channel av1, which most tv´s will turn to automatically when you turn on the pSone...

if it has a tv ariel input, exactly the same.

is it being connected directly to the tv ?



woah..


hold up..

is it a spanish tv? that may make a difference, but i doubt it very much, as you are using a scart and not a ariel...hmm..confusing. probably a bad connection on the scart, or the tv´s turned down
bfg69bug is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.