Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Considering a move to lovely Lanzarote next year

Considering a move to lovely Lanzarote next year

Old Apr 23rd 2015, 3:47 pm
Just Joined

LanzaroteKev is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Considering a move to lovely Lanzarote next year

Hi there, myself and my partner have just returned from another great week away in lanzarote and that being our third time on the island and we get a greater feeling everytime we visit, had long and lengthy discussions about relocating and moving out there to live. We currently live in Kent, UK and in the south east of England. I am in my mid 30s and my partner early 40s so we will still have to find and locate work which I have read isn't all that easy at present, my partner works in education so looking into the possibility of staying in that field teaching English language out there.

I work in the animal care industry/dog kennels/pet care services and have done for many years (approx 12). My question is, if we were to move out to lanzarote do people out there require dog walking whilst they are at work? We saw lots of dogs out there on our recent holiday, back here in the UK I had a good strong dog walking business for a few years and am experienced in this field. Does anybody know if there are already dog walking companies on the island? How many euros are charged for a walk? I am also qualified in dog grooming so another option could be to combine my experiences in pet care and offer a pet care services structure out there ( dog walking, cat feeding whilst away, dog bathing and grooming, doggy day care ect). I realise there is a dog boarding kennels in lanzarote but as that being the only one on the island I feel my chances of gaining employment there are not existent to be honest. Is there a strong need for pet care services on the islands? Or should I look into other lines of work? I know generally wherever you are in the world ou