Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

ADSL in Andalucia

ADSL in Andalucia

Old Jun 25th 2011, 10:19 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Arco-Iris's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Cadiz Province, Spain
Posts: 231
Arco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond repute
Default ADSL in Andalucia

Sorry if this has been brought up before, but has anyone any experience of an ADSL internet provider other than Telefonica Movistar that has its own servers?

We have one or two in Cadiz province that cater for those without a land line, but the others that constantly cold call about switching to their service do not have their own servers and to my mind can't possibly offer a better connection.

Our Telefonica Movistar keeps dropping off - the excuse is that we need a new router whereas it's really lack of investment to upgrade their antiquated equipment. At the moment, it's almost as if we're being rationed to 10 mins. here, half an hour there before it disappears for hours. We pay for a 24/7 connection and when it's working properly, we have no complaints.

Anyone any solid information? Thanks in advance.
Arco-Iris is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2011, 11:26 am
  #2  
MODERATOR
 
Fred James's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Granada Costa
Posts: 10,668
Fred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

Originally Posted by Arco-Iris View Post
Our Telefonica Movistar keeps dropping off - the excuse is that we need a new router
Of course that could be true but you would be surprised how often these problems result from something as simple as a bad connection somewhere in the line coming into the house.

I know of at least four people personally who I advised to get Telefonica to check the line and after a bit of fiddling around the problem was solved.

One tip is to report it as a voice line fault such as a noisy line. That will usually get them out. If you report it as an ADSL fault they have loads more options to blame such as your router etc.

If this is the cause of the problem then changing supplier will make no difference as they all use the same Telefonica line.
Fred James is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2011, 4:34 pm
  #3  
jdr
RETIRED ;-))
 
jdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Benalmadena Pueblo,Spain
Posts: 20,156
jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

Originally Posted by Fred James View Post
Of course that could be true but you would be surprised how often these problems result from something as simple as a bad connection somewhere in the line coming into the house.

I know of at least four people personally who I advised to get Telefonica to check the line and after a bit of fiddling around the problem was solved.

One tip is to report it as a voice line fault such as a noisy line. That will usually get them out. If you report it as an ADSL fault they have loads more options to blame such as your router etc.

If this is the cause of the problem then changing supplier will make no difference as they all use the same Telefonica line.
I agree with Fred on this, we kept losing ours a while ago and reported a noisey line, within a couple of hours the engineer came and checked the connections and it was a loose wire up the pole, sorted in a couple of mins and no more trouble.
jdr is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2011, 8:51 pm
  #4  
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,030
jurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

Fred Jamee you right what your sayying ... voice line fault . here a good one two used ...... i hear some voices on the link braking in few days ago and now the telephone engineer it has happen yet to day

like take sick car to the garage that noice is gone ....

Modern equipment that sends digital rather than analog data can safely use much more of the telephone line's capacity. DSL does just that . you cant hear it unless unplug the filtered

Human voices, speaking in normal conversational tones, can be carried in a frequency range of 0 to 3,400 Hertz (cycles per second )
Digial frequencies is hight at are around 26.000 kHz to 137.825 kHz is used for upstream communication, while 138 kHz – 1104 kHz is used for downstream communication .

fun facts . the green and red light that flash in you modem are green and red men
jurdyr is offline  
Old Jun 26th 2011, 10:21 pm
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 228
adra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really niceadra04778 is just really nice
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

May I ask while on the subject of Adsl, if the web site at Telefonica shows that you would get 3mb download in a given area, is his usually the case or could it be a lot slower in reality ?
adra04778 is offline  
Old Jun 26th 2011, 11:46 pm
  #6  
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,030
jurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of lightjurdyr is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

used a Independent site for cheque speeds , and used theres aswell

dont for get people Read the T&C , speed are print many be less ,
as one engineer say to the outher in spanish , "we tell him it slows down going up hill "
and yes that did say that in english ...

have any see the in site of the phone exchange in spain ?
jurdyr is offline  
Old Jun 27th 2011, 8:20 am
  #7  
MODERATOR
 
Fred James's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Granada Costa
Posts: 10,668
Fred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

Originally Posted by adra04778 View Post
May I ask while on the subject of Adsl, if the web site at Telefonica shows that you would get 3mb download in a given area, is his usually the case or could it be a lot slower in reality ?
We are about 1.5km from the exchange and can only sign up for 3mb.

We get about 2.7 all of the time which is about the practical maximum for a 3mb connection.
Fred James is offline  
Old Jun 27th 2011, 8:43 am
  #8  
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: In the middle of 10million Olive Trees
Posts: 12,053
Domino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

Originally Posted by adra04778 View Post
May I ask while on the subject of Adsl, if the web site at Telefonica shows that you would get 3mb download in a given area, is his usually the case or could it be a lot slower in reality ?
please understand that they are quoting the Maximum you can expect. However, this is rare. The further you are from the last amplifier unit the less the speed, this is called line loss and is electrical\electronic equivalent to the loss of water pressure the longer the pipe. This is because the vast majority of cabling is single strand similar to bell wire, in many cases smaller which means more line loss per km. It is only on any fibre stretches will you get negligable line loss, although there may be some.
Further losses may occur due to congestion along with poor connections along the way (see previous threads about "noise" and intermittant connections")

even in the uk where companies have a large adsl "pipe" with a 100Gigabyte/sec they are laying further pipes to increase that capability due to telephones going to VOIP which uses the same cable.

hope this helps
Domino is offline  
Old Jun 27th 2011, 7:31 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Arco-Iris's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Cadiz Province, Spain
Posts: 231
Arco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond reputeArco-Iris has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

Thanks everyone for all your contributions. I've not been able to get back on here for 2-3 days as the connection was lost. Simultaneously, the phone set up a helluva crackle. The wind has been strong down here lately, so mindful of the suggestions on here, we rang the engineers.

He has just departed after a couple of hours checking all the indoor and outdoor connections and then the posts nearby. A repair was done and... bingo, telephone line clear and internet restored. Fingers crossed, eh, that we won't have an imminent recurrence.

Thanks again to such helpful folk.
Arco-Iris is offline  
Old Jun 27th 2011, 8:20 pm
  #10  
jdr
RETIRED ;-))
 
jdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Benalmadena Pueblo,Spain
Posts: 20,156
jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

Originally Posted by Arco-Iris View Post
Thanks everyone for all your contributions. I've not been able to get back on here for 2-3 days as the connection was lost. Simultaneously, the phone set up a helluva crackle. The wind has been strong down here lately, so mindful of the suggestions on here, we rang the engineers.

He has just departed after a couple of hours checking all the indoor and outdoor connections and then the posts nearby. A repair was done and... bingo, telephone line clear and internet restored. Fingers crossed, eh, that we won't have an imminent recurrence.

Thanks again to such helpful folk.
Glad you got it sorted.
jdr is offline  
Old Jun 27th 2011, 9:33 pm
  #11  
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: In the middle of 10million Olive Trees
Posts: 12,053
Domino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: ADSL in Andalucia

Nice to have a happy ending

good luck on the Wibberly Wobbly Web
Domino is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.