Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East > The Sand Pit
Reload this Page >

New Router with a bit more oomph?

New Router with a bit more oomph?

Old Nov 27th 2013, 12:51 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Robajob's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 291
Robajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud of
Default New Router with a bit more oomph?

The time has come to retire the tired netgear virgin broadband router for something a bit less weedy.

Anyone out there got a suggestion for a router powerful enough to blast its signal through the reinforced concrete walls of our bunker of an apartment?
Robajob is offline  
Old Nov 27th 2013, 12:58 pm
  #2  
Knee deep and rising
 
weasel decentral's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,799
weasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

Originally Posted by Robajob View Post
The time has come to retire the tired netgear virgin broadband router for something a bit less weedy.

Anyone out there got a suggestion for a router powerful enough to blast its signal through the reinforced concrete walls of our bunker of an apartment?
Try something called homeplugs if the router is ok, they can be used to transfer the router signal into other rooms using the electrical outlets.
weasel decentral is offline  
Old Nov 27th 2013, 1:01 pm
  #3  
Millhouse is not a meme
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 14,599
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

Originally Posted by weasel decentral View Post
Try something called homeplugs if the router is ok, they can be used to transfer the router signal into other rooms using the electrical outlets.
every place I've had here has been Cat 5 wired. Just use the wires into multiple routers.

Nothing will get through the concrete-steel Faraday cage.
Millhouse is offline  
Old Nov 27th 2013, 1:13 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Robajob's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 291
Robajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud of
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

Originally Posted by weasel decentral View Post
Try something called homeplugs if the router is ok, they can be used to transfer the router signal into other rooms using the electrical outlets.
I'll have a look into that, thanks.
Robajob is offline  
Old Nov 27th 2013, 1:18 pm
  #5  
Knee deep and rising
 
weasel decentral's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,799
weasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond reputeweasel decentral has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

Originally Posted by Millhouse View Post
every place I've had here has been Cat 5 wired. Just use the wires into multiple routers.

Nothing will get through the concrete-steel Faraday cage.
The signal is transferred by the electrical wiring inside the room required and the plug then picks it up from the electrical outlet and broadcasts within the room. It does work, but obviously if its pre-wired cat 5 then use that.

Homeplugs
weasel decentral is offline  
Old Nov 27th 2013, 2:12 pm
  #6  
Millhouse is not a meme
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 14,599
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

Originally Posted by weasel decentral View Post
The signal is transferred by the electrical wiring inside the room required and the plug then picks it up from the electrical outlet and broadcasts within the room. It does work, but obviously if its pre-wired cat 5 then use that.

Homeplugs
I know it, it don't think that it will work in the villas as the upstairs and downstairs are on different rings.
Millhouse is offline  
Old Nov 27th 2013, 4:01 pm
  #7  
"Insert witty title here"
 
Irishbeekeeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: dxb
Posts: 2,221
Irishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

This http://www.linksys.com/en-apac/products/routers/EA6900 is the best router out there in my opinion
been looking at it for a few days and want to upgrade mine as well but cant find it anywhere right now, I am told it should be in stock in a week or so

a lower model EA6700 is available for about 650 aed but I would rather wait

Last edited by Irishbeekeeper; Nov 27th 2013 at 4:10 pm. Reason: price
Irishbeekeeper is offline  
Old Nov 28th 2013, 4:32 am
  #8  
Wannabe Cycling God
 
TheShed's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Palm Jumeriah
Posts: 1,090
TheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

I recently installed an Apple Time Capsule which is probably the best performing wireless router I have ever used. Its pretty pricey, but does come with a huge built in hard drive which I use to back up all of the devices in the house on a regular basis.

Its not for everyone, but if you want a router with storage, its a pretty good option.
TheShed is offline  
Old Nov 28th 2013, 6:16 am
  #9  
Soupy twist
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,265
Eeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond reputeEeyore has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

Originally Posted by Millhouse View Post
every place I've had here has been Cat 5 wired. Just use the wires into multiple routers
You may need to dig around and find the patch panel in order to make the necessary network sockets "live". In the Springs it was in the cupboard under the stairs (and needed a Krone tool to make the connections), in our current apartment it's in the ceiling space above the front door (and uses standard Ethernet patch cables).
Eeyore is offline  
Old Nov 28th 2013, 10:22 am
  #10  
Forum Regular
 
MAV_DXB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Bur Dubai
Posts: 287
MAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

Originally Posted by Irishbeekeeper View Post
This http://www.linksys.com/en-apac/products/routers/EA6900 is the best router out there in my opinion
been looking at it for a few days and want to upgrade mine as well but cant find it anywhere right now, I am told it should be in stock in a week or so

a lower model EA6700 is available for about 650 aed but I would rather wait
I have a Linksys EA6300v1 (came free when I bought a TV) - it sits in a hole in the wall that has a glass door - I've live in a one bed apartment - it does the job; can access the web when in the bedroom with the door closed (so the signal is either penertrating through the wooden door or concrete wall).
MAV_DXB is offline  
Old Nov 28th 2013, 10:30 am
  #11  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Robajob's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 291
Robajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud ofRobajob has much to be proud of
Default Re: New Router with a bit more oomph?

Thanks for all the suggestions folks.
Robajob is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.