HD TV

Old Jan 28th 2010, 2:09 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Max the Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 254
Max the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really nice
Default HD TV

Wow!!!
Just got the HD showtime package from DU....Fantastic!!!
Max the Dog is offline  
Old Jan 28th 2010, 10:46 pm
  #2  
why ayeeeee man!
 
Spugsy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Disco Gardens...
Posts: 11,370
Spugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Max the Dog View Post
Wow!!!
Just got the HD showtime package from DU....Fantastic!!!
really? isn't it 50 dibs or something for like 3 HD channels?

I got rid of it, was a waste of time.
Spugsy is offline  
Old Jan 29th 2010, 11:24 am
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Max the Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 254
Max the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really nice
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Spugsy View Post
really? isn't it 50 dibs or something for like 3 HD channels?

I got rid of it, was a waste of time.
No, in the cold light of day you are right!! I'm bored of the channels already. Picture is great but no content.
Hopefully they will get the sport in HD in the future!
Max the Dog is offline  
Old Jan 29th 2010, 3:48 pm
  #4  
Confirmed grumpy old man
 
Victor Meldrew's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Moved back to Riyadh KSA 2016
Posts: 1,298
Victor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Max the Dog View Post
No, in the cold light of day you are right!! I'm bored of the channels already. Picture is great but no content.
Hopefully they will get the sport in HD in the future!
Does anybody know the score with Evision HD package? I have asked at the desk in the Etisalat office and keep getting unclear conflicting answers.

I presume there aren't many HD channels with this package, but I heard that you get a full TV information package and can record programmes.

However, is this the same as Showbox in that you can pre programme recording for a future date/time, or can you only record 'live' i.e. pressing the 'record' button as the programme comes onto the TV/box.

Can you record one prgramme whilst watching another?

Thanks for any info.
Victor Meldrew is offline  
Old Jan 29th 2010, 5:04 pm
  #5  
why ayeeeee man!
 
Spugsy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Disco Gardens...
Posts: 11,370
Spugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Max the Dog View Post
No, in the cold light of day you are right!! I'm bored of the channels already. Picture is great but no content.
Hopefully they will get the sport in HD in the future!
they told me 'loads of channels coming soon' - bt that literally could be a few years from now.
Spugsy is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2010, 4:52 am
  #6  
Wannabe Cycling God
 
TheShed's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Palm Jumeriah
Posts: 1,091
TheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Victor Meldrew View Post
Does anybody know the score with Evision HD package? I have asked at the desk in the Etisalat office and keep getting unclear conflicting answers.

I presume there aren't many HD channels with this package, but I heard that you get a full TV information package and can record programmes.

However, is this the same as Showbox in that you can pre programme recording for a future date/time, or can you only record 'live' i.e. pressing the 'record' button as the programme comes onto the TV/box.

Can you record one prgramme whilst watching another?

Thanks for any info.

I have had the eVision HD package for some time now. I agree there is not that much yet, but it is certainly increasing. I normally get a couple of premier league games on Showsports HD over the weekend and there are a fair few HD movies coming through. As of tomorrow there is Discovery and Nat Geo HD starting which should be pretty impressive.

A lot of the sport on Al Jazira is already in HD and they have 2 HD channels on eVision so far.

The best bit of all will be next Prem League season when AL Jazira take over as they have stated they will show every Prem League game in HD. Cant wait.

You are right that the box is like a "showbox" and can record one channel whilst you watch another. I seem to remember that I had to pay about AED1,000 for the box when it was installed.

I went to Etisalat at Defense Roundabout and they were great - had it installed in 3 days.

I agree it costs a few dirhams more, but I personally feel its worth the extra change.
TheShed is offline  
Old Feb 3rd 2010, 2:19 pm
  #7  
Confirmed grumpy old man
 
Victor Meldrew's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Moved back to Riyadh KSA 2016
Posts: 1,298
Victor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by TheShed View Post
I have had the eVision HD package for some time now. I agree there is not that much yet, but it is certainly increasing. I normally get a couple of premier league games on Showsports HD over the weekend and there are a fair few HD movies coming through. As of tomorrow there is Discovery and Nat Geo HD starting which should be pretty impressive.

A lot of the sport on Al Jazira is already in HD and they have 2 HD channels on eVision so far.

The best bit of all will be next Prem League season when AL Jazira take over as they have stated they will show every Prem League game in HD. Cant wait.

You are right that the box is like a "showbox" and can record one channel whilst you watch another. I seem to remember that I had to pay about AED1,000 for the box when it was installed.

I went to Etisalat at Defense Roundabout and they were great - had it installed in 3 days.

I agree it costs a few dirhams more, but I personally feel its worth the extra change.
and can you pre-programme recording eg programme it today to record a programme next week?
Victor Meldrew is offline  
Old Feb 3rd 2010, 3:16 pm
  #8  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Max the Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 254
Max the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really niceMax the Dog is just really nice
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Victor Meldrew View Post
and can you pre-programme recording eg programme it today to record a programme next week?
Yes!
Max the Dog is offline  
Old Feb 3rd 2010, 3:40 pm
  #9  
Confirmed grumpy old man
 
Victor Meldrew's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Moved back to Riyadh KSA 2016
Posts: 1,298
Victor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Max the Dog View Post
Yes!
Thank you!!
Victor Meldrew is offline  
Old Feb 3rd 2010, 3:44 pm
  #10  
Confirmed grumpy old man
 
Victor Meldrew's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Moved back to Riyadh KSA 2016
Posts: 1,298
Victor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Max the Dog View Post
Yes!
But yours is the Du package. I am asking if the E-vision HD box/package allows pre programmed recording.

I used to have showtime showbox, but since moving house (and HAVING to switch to E-vision) I can no longer pre record. The E-vision sales people dont seem sure in answering this question.
Victor Meldrew is offline  
Old Feb 4th 2010, 3:07 am
  #11  
BE Enthusiast
 
Millsyisland's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 897
Millsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond reputeMillsyisland has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Victor Meldrew View Post
The E-vision sales people dont seem sure in answering this question.
The entire staff of EVision don't have a clue about anything, particularly about any of their products.

I yearn for Sky but it'll take years for anything like that sort of quality to arrive here. Granted there are a few HD channels appearing (which I ordered several months ago through EVision but have heard nothing and have now given up), but the quality of programming is just not there.

Since Showtime has been relaunched I now seem to have less channels and more repeats - great.
Millsyisland is offline  
Old Feb 4th 2010, 4:06 am
  #12  
Wannabe Cycling God
 
TheShed's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Palm Jumeriah
Posts: 1,091
TheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond reputeTheShed has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by Victor Meldrew View Post
But yours is the Du package. I am asking if the E-vision HD box/package allows pre programmed recording.

I used to have showtime showbox, but since moving house (and HAVING to switch to E-vision) I can no longer pre record. The E-vision sales people dont seem sure in answering this question.

Hi Victor, Yes, the eVision box allows scheduled recording. You can instantly record, "rewind" live TV and schedule something in the future. Please don't ask me how to do it as I have to ask my son when I want something recorded.

p.s. No sign yet of the new HD channels (Nat Geo HD and Discovery HD) which were supposed to arrive on Feb 1st - but hey, it is Shitisalat we are talking about here.
TheShed is offline  
Old Jun 17th 2010, 11:17 am
  #13  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Al Ain
Posts: 68
JB22 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: HD TV

Originally Posted by TheShed View Post
Hi Victor, Yes, the eVision box allows scheduled recording. You can instantly record, "rewind" live TV and schedule something in the future. Please don't ask me how to do it as I have to ask my son when I want something recorded.

p.s. No sign yet of the new HD channels (Nat Geo HD and Discovery HD) which were supposed to arrive on Feb 1st - but hey, it is Shitisalat we are talking about here.
do you know if my UK HD TV will work in the UAE? I take it that you can not pick up the astra sats but if you can get hotbird sta then a fortecsat box will tune into hotbird as well as many others you choose and that has some free to air channels on it. Might need a big dish
JB22 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.