Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East > The Sand Pit
Reload this Page >

Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Old Apr 8th 2015, 10:14 am
  #1  
Go on.. Pull my finger..
Thread Starter
 
TGFKASE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 5,692
TGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond repute
Default Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Moved into the new house and Etisalat have been around to do their 20 mins of work..

Walls appear to be extremely thick, based on wifi coverage, so am planning on getting a few 'plug in' boosters.

However, I am also wondering if there is a way to switch the wireless signal back to a wired? I have a gizmo or 2 that doesn't work wirelessly, and requires a line in.

Anyone know if such a beast exists? Or do I just end up with multiple modems dotted around the house?
TGFKASE is offline  
Old Apr 8th 2015, 10:34 am
  #2  
Millhouse is not a meme
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 14,600
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Originally Posted by TGFKASE View Post
Moved into the new house and Etisalat have been around to do their 20 mins of work..

Walls appear to be extremely thick, based on wifi coverage, so am planning on getting a few 'plug in' boosters.

However, I am also wondering if there is a way to switch the wireless signal back to a wired? I have a gizmo or 2 that doesn't work wirelessly, and requires a line in.

Anyone know if such a beast exists? Or do I just end up with multiple modems dotted around the house?
it's called a router. The model will be able to line out to a router (and I'm sure it has 4 ports anyway).

We have three routers in our house: two routing, one router-modem. The router-modem feeds the two routers that then do a mix of wifi and wired connections.

It's a bloody mess and took some research to get up. But it works.
Millhouse is offline  
Old Apr 8th 2015, 10:35 am
  #3  
BE Enthusiast
 
Cypselos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 541
Cypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

The problem with ignoring people is that when they could help you you don't know.
Cypselos is offline  
Old Apr 8th 2015, 11:37 am
  #4  
Go on.. Pull my finger..
Thread Starter
 
TGFKASE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 5,692
TGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Originally Posted by Millhouse View Post
it's called a router. The model will be able to line out to a router (and I'm sure it has 4 ports anyway).

We have three routers in our house: two routing, one router-modem. The router-modem feeds the two routers that then do a mix of wifi and wired connections.

It's a bloody mess and took some research to get up. But it works.
So, let me get this right..

I can get a router that picks up the wifi signal, and can then either transmit again wirelessly or can be used as a standard ethernet connection?
TGFKASE is offline  
Old Apr 8th 2015, 12:02 pm
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 1,800
Brains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond reputeBrains1983 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

is your place wired for ethernet (ie 2 or 4 sockets in each room and a main control box somewhere with a load of them)
Brains1983 is offline  
Old Apr 8th 2015, 12:03 pm
  #6  
Millhouse is not a meme
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 14,600
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Originally Posted by TGFKASE View Post
So, let me get this right..

I can get a router that picks up the wifi signal, and can then either transmit again wirelessly or can be used as a standard ethernet connection?
plug the wifi-router-modem that you were given by estisalat into the wifirouter in the other location.

you will be able to use wifi and wired connections in both locations.

I have massively oversimplifed this, and if you do the above it will not work.

How to Connect Two Routers on a Home Network
Millhouse is offline  
Old Apr 8th 2015, 4:33 pm
  #7  
Bob
SUPER MODERATOR
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,482
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Get one of those things that plugs into a plug socket to carry a "wired" network. Plug one end into the router and the other end near where you want it.
Bob is offline  
Old Apr 8th 2015, 4:38 pm
  #8  
Millhouse is not a meme
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 14,600
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Originally Posted by Bob View Post
Get one of those things that plugs into a plug socket to carry a "wired" network. Plug one end into the router and the other end near where you want it.
problem is in dubai sometimes the up and down stairs are on totally separate boxes. don't think these will work
Millhouse is offline  
Old Apr 8th 2015, 5:42 pm
  #9  
Bob
SUPER MODERATOR
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,482
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Originally Posted by Millhouse View Post
problem is in dubai sometimes the up and down stairs are on totally separate boxes. don't think these will work
Get a shifty electrician in for some shifty lecky work?
Bob is offline  
Old Apr 9th 2015, 4:01 am
  #10  
Go on.. Pull my finger..
Thread Starter
 
TGFKASE's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 5,692
TGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond reputeTGFKASE has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Adapting Wireless Internet to Wired??

Ok, think I have it fixed now... Just got given a possible fix for my situation that, whilst a bit MacGyver-ish, just might work.

Just need to buy a few modem/routers and some extra Ethernet cables.. and some paperclips, tape, tiewraps, a spring and some electrical cord...

Ill advise back if I escape.. Err, it works..
TGFKASE is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.