Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK > The Rovers Return
Reload this Page >

What's your opinion on the strikes?

What's your opinion on the strikes?

Old Nov 30th 2011, 10:17 am
Ping-ponger

dunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond repute
Default What's your opinion on the strikes?

For those of you living here or moving back, what do you think of the strikes?

I work in the public sector and am not striking for several reasons.

I think that regardless of what you think of striking as a means of influencing things, the current public sector pensions are clearly unsustainable. The maths just don't add up. Actually, correction: The maths do add up, but would have to be paid for by everyone else (via increased taxes, or decreased proportion of taxes available for other public use). The money for sustaining current pension conditions won't just appear from thin air.
Old Nov 30th 2011, 11:10 am
Forum Regular

lenehan101 is just really nicelenehan101 is just really nicelenehan101 is just really nicelenehan101 is just really nicelenehan101 is just really nicelenehan101 is just really nicelenehan101 is just really nicelenehan101 is just really nice
Default Re: What's your opinion on the strikes?

But the economy supposedly didn't suffer when private and public sectors got the day off for the Royal wedding? Yet it will cost half a billion for today's strike action so the government claim.