Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Portugal
Reload this Page >

bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

Old Nov 4th 2021, 12:46 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 214
nigel.b is just really nicenigel.b is just really nicenigel.b is just really nicenigel.b is just really nicenigel.b is just really nicenigel.b is just really nicenigel.b is just really nicenigel.b is just really nice
Default bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

Presumably this is open and with no covid controls?
nigel.b is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2021, 2:38 pm
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 638
Shanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

It was a few weeks ago.
Shanorme is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2021, 2:39 pm
  #3  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 638
Shanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond reputeShanorme has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

Oh and I forgot, our neighbours used it last weekend - it was open then.
Shanorme is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2021, 3:13 pm
  #4  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Sep 2021
Location: Ayamonte,Huelva
Posts: 4
teachy is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs up Re: bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

Dont assume.. its open and has stayed open since the post lockdown closure
There is still the potential for general traffic control at any time and you need to organise payment for Portuguese tolls ...but traffic is free flowing both ways without Covid checks. We cross over and back at least three times a week to shop or eat in restaurants.
teachy is offline  
Old Nov 4th 2021, 10:22 pm
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 93
del.Almendro will become famous soon enoughdel.Almendro will become famous soon enough
Default Re: bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

We crossed the bridge many times during October with no issues. The A22 is free to use as far as the Monte Gordo turn-off, two junctions from the bridge.
del.Almendro is offline  
Old Nov 7th 2021, 8:46 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Oct 2019
Location: Aussie nomad with no fixed abode
Posts: 236
m2m2012 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

If you don't have an EU drivers license you may need a IDP for Spain, Australians certainly do. Australians do not need one for Portugal.
m2m2012 is offline  
Old Nov 8th 2021, 8:03 am
  #7  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 93
del.Almendro will become famous soon enoughdel.Almendro will become famous soon enough
Default Re: bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

UK residents with photocard driving licences issued in the UK do not need an IDP to drive anywhere in the EU. (as advised on gov.uk)
del.Almendro is offline  
Old Nov 8th 2021, 3:18 pm
  #8  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 601
chislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond reputechislenko has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

Originally Posted by del.Almendro View Post
UK residents with photocard driving licences issued in the UK do not need an IDP to drive anywhere in the EU. (as advised on gov.uk)
I've never had a problem driving in Europe and still use an old paper non photo licence as have never had the need to renew.

Does it now state it has to be a photo one?
chislenko is offline  
Old Nov 8th 2021, 4:08 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 93
del.Almendro will become famous soon enoughdel.Almendro will become famous soon enough
Default Re: bridge to Ayamonte, Spain

Originally Posted by chislenko View Post
I've never had a problem driving in Europe and still use an old paper non photo licence as have never had the need to renew.

Does it now state it has to be a photo one?
Seems to be a grey area. gov.uk recommends contacting the embassy for the country you intend driving in for clarification. An IDP may be needed, two different ones to drive in PT and ES.

I wouldn't feel comfortable only having a really old paper driving licence and recommend exchanging it for a photocard version.
del.Almendro is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.