Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Workers Injury Compensation Laws in South Australia slashed! Workers lose rights!

Workers Injury Compensation Laws in South Australia slashed! Workers lose rights!

Old Jun 7th 2008, 1:06 pm
Forum Regular

TZracer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Workers Injury Compensation Laws in South Australia slashed! Workers lose rights!

Hi all, I just thought I would let all considering moving to SAPOL when they begin the next recruiting drive that is. That the South Australian State Government were successful in implementing the 'New Workers Compensation Legislation' 2 days ago.

How will it affect you as a police officer with SAPOL?? easy, just like any other employee, be it clerk, baker, office manager, fire officer etc etc If injured, you will have 13 weeks to get better before you lose 10% of your pay, then if the injury is serious and are not completely healed after 2.5 years, they just stop paying you!! Yea after 2.5 years the claim is closed and you get paid nadda!! you lose 100% salary! Just as simple as that my friends.

They will have a panel of Doctors that will not examine you as the injured worker, that panel will make a decision as to your fitness etc based on a file shoved in front of them and whatever they say can not be challenged. That's right, it can not be challenged in Court even. You are not entiteled to be assisted or represented by a Solicitor either!! Thats right you are not entiteld to a Solicitor!! A breach of basic human rights in my opinion.