Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Calling all Kiwi Sparkys!

Calling all Kiwi Sparkys!

Old Sep 1st 2010, 10:35 am
Just Joined

dudley189 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Calling all Kiwi Sparkys!

I am hoping to all of you good people in the expat community will be able to give me a shove in the right direction or at least some pearly words of wisdom.

I’m in a bit of a quandary and am not sure what to do. My situation is this:
I am currently still in England but am about to make the move to NZ, coming over on the skilled migrant category/work to residence.
I am a JIB approved electrician and have been offered a provisional practising licence by the EWRB.
I have sent off many e-mails to employment agencies with a view to trying to find out where a work may be but obviously reprise are all saying that they need to seeing the first before they can progress any further, which is understandable.
Now ideally, I would very much like to settle in Christchurch but will obviously end up going where ever I can get a job.
Can anybody tell me, it’s Christchurch a good place to look for electrical jobs and what is the likelihood of me getting any kind of electrical work without a full practising licence?

Another little point that I must admit is worrying me (while I’m in worry mode) is that being a Sparky in good old Blighty, be it in construction or building services, it’s a relatively straightforward affair. General power and lighting with a sprinkling of controls and a soupçon of fault finding. Obviously, this is a summarisation but the thing I’m getting to is that every Kiwi Sparky I have met in the UK seems to be a lot more knowledgeable of things like PLCs, motor control circuits and the design of thereof and generally very well versed in all manner of controls.
Although I like to think that I am widely experienced, it’s typically based around metal munching, shopfitting, commercial and domestic installations.