Reload this Page >

US born, US/UK dual citizen, seeking short term work in England

US born, US/UK dual citizen, seeking short term work in England

Old Mar 14th 2016, 3:18 am
Just Joined

laurakonsitzke is an unknown quantity at this point
Default US born, US/UK dual citizen, seeking short term work in England

Hello!

My name is Laura, I am 23 years old, and I'm a dual citizen of the US and UK. I am currently living, and have done all my life, in the US (Michigan). My mother is American and my father moved here from England in the early 1990s. I have since received full British citizenship (dual nationality). I have a 4-year, Bachelor of Science degree from Michigan State University in Nutritional Science. I will be attending graduate school in the US (Pennsylvania) in Sept of this year, but am very interested in moving to England for the early spring and summer before I begin. I've got family living in London (Islington) and Birmingham, but would ideally live with an aunt in Islington (free of charge), so housing is no issue. Does anyone have some suggestions on what I need to do to prepare for the move? I would like to work while living there, most likely in a restaurant/bar, as I understand being employed within the field of science/nutrition (per my degree) for such a short time is not very realistic. What I am looking to gain out of this experience is to work to pay for travel within Europe and to make friends, use this experience for personal growth, and "be 23" before I have to enter the "real world", settle down, and begin graduate school. I'm not sure how the whole process of this works. So I've come up with a couple of questions:

1.) Do I need to complete any work permit paperwork? (I assume so)

2.) Where would be the best location to work? I don't mind a reasonable commute. I want to be around young people (20s age group preferably), in a position to make cash to pay for outings and basic living (exclude housing costs - bonus!)