Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

self pack shipping container? Toronto to Bath

self pack shipping container? Toronto to Bath

Old Jun 1st 2009, 8:01 pm
Just Joined

en1gma is just really niceen1gma is just really niceen1gma is just really niceen1gma is just really niceen1gma is just really niceen1gma is just really niceen1gma is just really niceen1gma is just really nice
Default self pack shipping container? Toronto to Bath

Hello all

(I'm a newbie here so be nice

I wonder if anyone here has any recent experience in packing their own shipping container in Canada and shipping it back to the UK? (In our case its a 20ft container from Toronto to/near Bath)

We'd prefer the self pack option, not just because of the price point but also because it becomes a good limiter/filter on what we can take back
(after nearly 6 years in Canada we have WAY more stuff than we came with... and one more child

The price we have received vary widely and it is hard to compare directly.
In particular as one quote is "DDU" I'm not quite sure what I might be in for in terms of clearing the port in Southampton!

Is it something one can do DIY in full or in part? If not, has anyone got a recommendation of a customs agent?

I've googled (and learned) a lot but what I really need is the "voice of experience"

thanks
Old Jun 4th 2009, 3:55 pm
BE Forum Addict

Rob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond reputeRob4BC has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: self pack shipping container? Toronto to Bath

Bump - would be interested in this myself.
Old Jun 4th 2009, 4:04 pm
Just Joined