Finding A Way Home

Old Sep 18th 2008, 3:20 am
Just Joined

HammockBound is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Finding A Way Home

Hi folks - glad you could drop by.

Firstly let me say thank you to everyone who has written such supportive posts on this forum. Reading it and seeing that I'm not alone has lifted my mood and really woken me up.

So...

I've been insanely lucky in my life. Shortly after finishing my first year of work after university, I inherited a house in England and was able to rent it out to allow me to travel the globe for prolonged periods without needing to work. Basically I've been travelling off and on for about 10 years now, the last three of which I've been based in Malaysia. I'd never felt an attachment to the UK and apart from my parents living there I can't really think of many reasons to pick this cold, wet island as my home.

But for some reason, for the last few months, I've felt desperately alone here and homesick for England. After a recent holiday to the UK which I enjoyed, I came very close to booking the flight and quitting this lazy drifter life for some stability and a stab at normalcy. But while I was evaluating my decision, I researched the costs and employment prospects of living in the UK with no recent qualifications or work experience and was ultimately put off by the overwhelmingly negative picture that was portrayed. It seemed my options were to (a) take very unchallenging lowly work and live in a cramped expensive property, or (b) stay in Malaysia and live what most people would call a very luxurious and easy life.

Now I've taken a 12 month rental in Malaysia and immediately regret it. Petty, trivial annoyances are driving me nuts and I'm turning disturbingly anti-social. I don't see a future here and I don't feel I can make it in the UK. And being unable to see a future anywhere is getting me very depressed. I'm really having a hard time getting out of bed in the mornings.