British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   What do you have to do to get a job around here? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/what-do-you-have-do-get-job-around-here-559562/)

cmhannan Sep 4th 2008 11:49 pm

What do you have to do to get a job around here?

I am at my wits end! I came here because my husband got a good job. In the UK I was a highly respected teacher, but here...nada!

My friends who live here and work as teachers all said that I would be 'instantly snapped up'. They said that there is a shortage good of teachers. Ha!

I have 15 years experience in the classroom, have been subject leader, have a Masters degree in TESL, have a proven track record at tertiary level (my recent A-Level cohort all got As and Bs)...and still nothing!!!

I have sent my cv to every college and even had quite a positive (I thought) interview at one college and I AM STILL UNEMPLOYED!!!

Is there somebody out there who will give me a job?

Bob Sep 5th 2008 12:41 am

Re: What do you have to do to get a job around here?

Been quite a few recent threads on schools and teachers...give them a search...

cmhannan Sep 5th 2008 6:37 am

Thank you, but how do I do that? Have tried the 'search' and wound up in Australia. Can you direct me to a link?:blink:

Inselaffen Sep 5th 2008 6:45 am

Originally Posted by cmhannan (Post 6751018)
Thank you, but how do I do that? Have tried the 'search' and wound up in Australia. Can you direct me to a link?:blink:

click on search and then on advanced search. that will allow you the select the Middle East threads only.

Foxes Sep 5th 2008 6:47 am

serach>advanced search

type your "key word"
choose the "middle east" option in search forums

The Dean Sep 5th 2008 7:21 am

Originally Posted by cmhannan (Post 6750346)
I am at my wits end! I came here because my husband got a good job. In the UK I was a highly respected teacher, but here...nada!