VPN

Old Sep 22nd 2008, 9:04 am
  #16  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 74
ximmyx will become famous soon enough
Default Re: VPN

that doesnt work for me. it just shows an error message??
ximmyx is offline  
Old Sep 22nd 2008, 10:05 am
  #17  
Forum Regular
 
MAV_DXB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Bur Dubai
Posts: 291
MAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: VPN

I use Hotshield, works ok, it's free and not a VPN.
MAV_DXB is offline  
Old Sep 22nd 2008, 11:51 am
  #18  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Ranches
Posts: 19
Jmover is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Re: VPN

just downloaded hotshield - cant get to the iplayer with it though!
any ideas why not?
Jmover is offline  
Old Sep 22nd 2008, 5:58 pm
  #19  
Forum Regular
 
MAV_DXB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Bur Dubai
Posts: 291
MAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond reputeMAV_DXB has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: VPN

"just downloaded hotshield - cant get to the iplayer with it though!
any ideas why not?"


Just tried myself, the reason is most probably because the IP we're connecting via is not based in the UK.
MAV_DXB is offline  
Old Sep 22nd 2008, 7:34 pm
  #20  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,842
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: VPN

Originally Posted by MAV_DXB View Post
"just downloaded hotshield - cant get to the iplayer with it though!
any ideas why not?"


Just tried myself, the reason is most probably because the IP we're connecting via is not based in the UK.
It's US based I think, so that's probably why.
Bob is offline  
Old Sep 24th 2008, 12:28 am
  #21  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 38
boroexile is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: VPN

Can you get Skype IN to work with/without a VPN? It says on their website its £35 per year for a UK phone number which would save the relatives a fortune if it works ok.

At a guess it may only work if you're logged on via a VPN but just wondered if anyone had tried it as it would save me paying out for something that didn't work.

If it doesn't I'll probably have to register my family with Localcall.

Grateful for any replies..
boroexile is offline  
Old Sep 24th 2008, 6:40 am
  #22  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Ranches
Posts: 19
Jmover is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Re: VPN

rather than trying to use skype, how about using msn? it comes on most computers, and can be downloaded here in dubai and means if you are connected via broadband there are no charges - its great fun if you have a webcam on the computer too - even the most basic computers have them these days. the only problem we have come across is that there can be problems with mac users accessing the full facilities. Ok, so it is computer to computer, but these days that doesn't seem to be too much of a problem. my kids can keep in contact with their friends back in the uk quite easily.

Jmover is offline  
Old Sep 24th 2008, 7:54 pm
  #23  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,842
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: VPN

Originally Posted by boroexile View Post
Can you get Skype IN to work with/without a VPN? It says on their website its £35 per year for a UK phone number which would save the relatives a fortune if it works ok.

At a guess it may only work if you're logged on via a VPN but just wondered if anyone had tried it as it would save me paying out for something that didn't work.

If it doesn't I'll probably have to register my family with Localcall.

Grateful for any replies..
reading the forums, skype to skype works, but skype to phone would be voip, and be blocked, so you would need a vpn service.

Thing is folks, mentioning which VPN services you lot use, that work, will lead to get being put on the ban list too, you know on the reasoning that your stumping money out of your service provider...so might want to keep recommendations to pm's.
Bob is offline  
Old Sep 24th 2008, 10:02 pm
  #24  
BE Enthusiast
 
CeeBee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 656
CeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: VPN

Originally Posted by Bob View Post
reading the forums, skype to skype works, but skype to phone would be voip, and be blocked, so you would need a vpn service.

Thing is folks, mentioning which VPN services you lot use, that work, will lead to get being put on the ban list too, you know on the reasoning that your stumping money out of your service provider...so might want to keep recommendations to pm's.
Correctamundo.....STOP IT!
CeeBee is offline  
Old Oct 11th 2008, 9:42 am
  #25  
Forum Regular
 
GB2180's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
GB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really nice
Default Re: VPN

Hi All,
I will be flying out to Dubai to start my contract Early November, so trying to get all issues answered and sorted.
I understand from reading all the threads that I need a vpn on my laptop for me to use Skype (a must)
But will also want to use BBC Iplayer ect. Also attempt to connect to Sky also in the UK
Am I correct in saying that I need to connect to a UK based VPN? Could any one direct me to a tried and trusted supplier for VPN?

Hope to meet some of you soon. Thanks in advance
GB
GB2180 is offline  
Old Oct 11th 2008, 6:37 pm
  #26  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,842
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: VPN

Originally Posted by GB2180 View Post
Hi All,
I will be flying out to Dubai to start my contract Early November, so trying to get all issues answered and sorted.
I understand from reading all the threads that I need a vpn on my laptop for me to use Skype (a must)
But will also want to use BBC Iplayer ect. Also attempt to connect to Sky also in the UK
Am I correct in saying that I need to connect to a UK based VPN? Could any one direct me to a tried and trusted supplier for VPN?

Hope to meet some of you soon. Thanks in advance
GB
Skype only needs a vpn if you use it for VOIP, to phone, if just puter to puter you don't need it.

There's been a few recommendations on the board already, though I'm sure people will pm you with details as they shouldn't be broadcasted, or they'd just be put on the dead list and be no good to anyone.
Bob is offline  
Old Oct 11th 2008, 7:19 pm
  #27  
Forum Regular
 
GB2180's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
GB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really niceGB2180 is just really nice
Default Re: VPN

Cheers Bob,

Would appreciate any PM's on this subject giving details of VPN to use so I can get my laptop all ware'd up and ready for Dubai.
Any news from Brits using VPN for use of Sky would be a plus also.

Looking forward to getting out theto the Middle East.
GB2180 is offline  
Old Oct 17th 2008, 9:08 pm
  #28  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
Stewn is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: VPN

Would also very much appreciate a PM about a UK thingy if possible. All the ones I've tried are bloomin' blocked.....

Tar in advance....
Stewn is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2009, 3:53 am
  #29  
Banned
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 202
twisty100 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: VPN

Originally Posted by Stewn View Post
Would also very much appreciate a PM about a UK thingy if possible. All the ones I've tried are bloomin' blocked.....

Tar in advance....
Hi Guys,

I have used www.***************** since i moved to DXB. They provided one the cheapest options i have seen, cheaper than the ones mentioned and there support is brill as i have a computer phobia ...

M
twisty100 is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2009, 4:24 am
  #30  
Forum Regular
 
Abu Andy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 89
Abu Andy is just really niceAbu Andy is just really niceAbu Andy is just really niceAbu Andy is just really niceAbu Andy is just really niceAbu Andy is just really niceAbu Andy is just really niceAbu Andy is just really niceAbu Andy is just really nice
Default Re: VPN

I am using Etasilat USB mobile broadband on my laptop. Does anyone know if a VPN would screw that up? Will it treat the laptop as if it's in the UK and cost me a bloody fortune?
Abu Andy is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.