RASGAS Interview

Old Jun 17th 2013, 1:32 pm
Just Joined

irishal is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RASGAS Interview

Hi All,

First post here, so go easy on me.

I have been looking for a job in the middle east for about 12 months now, with not much success. Suddenly last week I was contacted by an agent about RASGAS, yesterday I had two interviews, technical and with HR, and now they are organising a visa for a face to face interview. However, they have already sent me an indicative offer. Everything is happening very fast and I am not sure about the value of their indicative offer, as everyone here says you should get 1.5 times your home country basic salary. Also my agent says I should negotiate before the face to face interview, which I find a bit strange, without a job offer.

I am an integrity engineer with 15 years experience, I have a MSc and I am Chartered. I would be coming with my wife and two sons. In the UK I earn 68K, about 32.5k QR before tax per month. With tax this comes to about 19.5K QR per month.

The indicative offer is for, per month:

Basic 28.5K
Transport 2K
Site Allowance 2.3k (I would be living in Doha and working in Ras Laffan)
One off Furniture allowance 55K
Medical and Dental
Housing fully paid
5 months salary interest free car loan
One annual ticket home for me, wife and kids
Education assistance of annual registration and tuition fees
School age children transportation allowance of 375 QR

I think the allowances are pretty good, but I'm not sure about the basic salary, it is actually less than what I earn in the UK (before tax). My agent seems to think I could negotiate to 31K QR per month. I hope to save around 2K GBP per month.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated (even though I am sure you are all sick of reading are these offers suitable threads)
Old Jun 17th 2013, 1:38 pm
Forum Regular