Reload this Page >

Married Malaysian currently in UK planning for UAE

Married Malaysian currently in UK planning for UAE

Old Jul 29th 2012, 4:04 pm
Just Joined

JasminePinko is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Married Malaysian currently in UK planning for UAE

Hi,

I hope someone can help me with my question.

I'm a Malaysian married to a British Citizen and currently working and living in the UK. I'm planning to go and work in UAE for a large project. My husband and I recently purchased a flat together.

So, the question is, if I work in the UAE for 3 years and more and then come back to the UK, will I get taxed?

As far as I understand, I am a resident in the UK, as for domicile, I'm not sure as my husband is British and by nationality I'm Malaysian. I also read that if I own a place in the UK I am deemed resident as well. So does that mean regardless of working over 3 years in the UAE, I'm still liable for tax when I return. Is this true?

Please help. I don't plan to go if my income will be taxed in the future when I
return.

Thanks

Jasmine
Old Jul 29th 2012, 10:21 pm
Forum Regular

Jackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to allJackwow is a name known to all
Default Re: Married Malaysian currently in UK planning for UAE

Originally Posted by JasminePinko
...I also read that if I own a place in the UK I am deemed resident as well. So does that mean regardless of working over 3 years in the UAE, I'm still liable for tax when I return. Is this true?