Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Help - need to decide where to live in Middle East

Help - need to decide where to live in Middle East

Old Feb 7th 2007, 2:37 pm
Forum Regular

twistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of lighttwistopher is a glorious beacon of light
Default Help - need to decide where to live in Middle East

I wonder if you kind people might help me in deciding where to live.
I work in construction and may have a choice of places in which to settle for the foreseeable future.
I was brought up in Bahrain (aged 4-16) and loved the way of life, the people etc. Parents spent some time in Oman (i visited twice) and loved it even more, and also spent some time in Abu Dhabi - they had some bad experiences which didn't have too much to do with the place or people (except one little shit who decided to keep my Dad's last month salary & gratuity when he had just been diagnosed with teminal cancer).
So, my question for you all (got there eventually) is in what order of preference do would you place Oman, Bahrain, Dubai/AbuDhabi/Qatar (that's my preference at the moment, with the last three equal to each other).
Don't get mw wrong, i may have little or no choice, but i wanted an informed opinion from you guys who might have more experience than i.
My particular concerns are;
- Cost of rents in Dubai (i wouldn't want to live in an apartment with my wife and little girl - much rather a villa. Is this common?
- I know next to nothing about Qatar;
- I'm pretty sure there isn't too much construction work going on i n Oman, so am not holding my breath on that;