Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Advice on things to consider in Qatar please.

Advice on things to consider in Qatar please.

Old May 10th 2012, 5:35 pm
Just Joined

GazzaMac is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice on things to consider in Qatar please.

Hi everyone, hope you are all well!! I could of started with the "is my package good enough?" but I feel this is a personal choice and after reading other posts, I find my offer more than acceptable for me compared to my current deal here in the rainy U.K! I am a 30yr old man complete with wife and 3 children aged 4,13,17. I have been offered a deal in Doha with a waste management company which after doing the maths, has become quite appealing to me. I have 10 years experience and I am also studying a BA(hons) degree in Operations and Project Management. Anyway, I need to kick start my career and after discussing it with the wife, have agreed this would be a fantastic opportunity. Although this has excited me greatly, I am not looking through "rose coloured specs!!" I would like other things to consider before I agree to the terms and accept the position. I am aware it's hot, sandy, mundane, boring, etc But mainly for me, I come home from work and spend time at home with the family, so the outside barely interests me all that much. I have considered financial aspects, but until the final offer comes in, all I can go on is what he verbally offered me. Of course I will ensure this is all in writing before committing to anything, but to get a little heads up, what are the minimum allowances you should want for schooling/car/living/housing etc. He did say £5000 for each childs schooling, which equates to roughly QR29000 and from what I have read, seems quite reasonable, so I expect the rest to be in line with this. At least if I know before hand, I can counter offer without delay. What is the healthcare like out there? It is as important as the money for me,