Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

marriage and dual citizenship.

marriage and dual citizenship.

Old Jan 8th 2004, 1:22 am
Forum Regular

shak is an unknown quantity at this point
Default marriage and dual citizenship.

ok i hope i explain this clearly enough...

I'm a UK citizen, who's also a US resident...i've been living in the US for years and years... and i've been a permanent resident for almost 10 yrs..
Now my boyfriend is a UK citizen, i've pretty much gathered the easiest way for my bf and i to live in the US before/after marriage is for me to become a US citizen(which i don't mind too much). At least i believe that will make the process much easier for him to live there...
I was wondering once you become a US citizen, do you automatically lose your original countries citizenship? Since my boyfriend will technically still be a British citizen after marriage(right?), does that automatically still allow me to be a UK citizen? Or...is it that if he marries a US citizen(me eventually), that he'll lose is UK citizenship?...or will that allow him to have dual citizenship as well? whew...i hope all that wasnt too confuzing and makes some kinda sense!
Well any help in clearing this up in my head would be appreciated... thanks!
Old Jan 8th 2004, 1:28 am
BE Forum Addict

sphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to beholdsphyrapicus is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: marriage and dual citizenship.

Originally posted by shak