Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

have a master's degree but cannot work... any suggestions?

have a master's degree but cannot work... any suggestions?

Old Feb 6th 2007, 9:16 pm
jeji123

Default have a master's degree but cannot work... any suggestions?

hi all...
i have a masters degree in international relations, but i could not
find any organization that would sponsor me (H1-B). i used up my OPT
working for two org. and now I am in H4 status. i do not know what to
do now - i am volunteering at couple of places. my husband is in
process of GC, but it will take many years... and i am worried that by
the time we will have GC, i will not have any relevant experience in
my field and it might be hard for me to find a job. could you please
give me any suggestions as to how to utilize my time?
thank you so much.

Old Feb 10th 2007, 1:35 am

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: have a master's degree but cannot work... any suggestions?

Originally Posted by jeji123
hi all...
thank you so much.
You are allowed to attend school on an H4. You can always go to classes to keep yourself current in your field until such time that you are allowed to work.

Also, you might want to double check on the volunteering effort. I don't think you're even supposed to volunteer....but I'm not 100% sure.

Rene
Old Feb 10th 2007, 1:42 am
now I know my J,C,B's