Bell Fibre

Old Jan 23rd 2014, 5:31 pm
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,159
Miss Clinique is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Bell Fibre

I am looking at changing from Bell satilite to fibre. I have a couple of questions, if there is anyone who has bell fibre and wouldnt mind helping me out, I would very much appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.
Miss Clinique is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2014, 5:36 pm
  #2  
Seasoned Maritimer
 
Tangram's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Fredericton, New Brunswick CA
Posts: 8,307
Tangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond reputeTangram has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bell Fibre

Originally Posted by Miss Clinique View Post
I am looking at changing from Bell satilite to fibre. I have a couple of questions, if there is anyone who has bell fibre and wouldnt mind helping me out, I would very much appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.
I'm on Bell Alliant FirbeOp (which may be different not sure ) and was on Bell Sat 3 years ago.
Tangram is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2014, 5:38 pm
  #3  
Slightly Canadian
 
Atlantic Xpat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 10,063
Atlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond reputeAtlantic Xpat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bell Fibre

I'm in FibreOp too. Bell also sells something called "Fibe" in ON which isn't Fibre Optic all the way to your home but rather Fibre Optic to a local exchange and then regular copper from there. Less good.
Atlantic Xpat is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2014, 5:39 pm
  #4  
SUPER MODERATOR
 
Jerseygirl's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 86,604
Jerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bell Fibre

Originally Posted by Miss Clinique View Post
I am looking at changing from Bell satilite to fibre. I have a couple of questions, if there is anyone who has bell fibre and wouldnt mind helping me out, I would very much appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.
We have Bell Fibe...can't say I'm happy with it.
Jerseygirl is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2014, 6:00 pm
  #5  
Oscar nominated
 
BristolUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 41,026
BristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond reputeBristolUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bell Fibre

We have it too. It's great.
They offered it to us for the same regular cost of what we already had.

The breakdown of the bill makes it look more expensive than what we had before but the total's much the same. Not sure how or why but who cares?
BristolUK is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2014, 6:06 pm
  #6  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,159
Miss Clinique is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Bell Fibre

Originally Posted by Jerseygirl View Post
We have Bell Fibe...can't say I'm happy with it.
Its Bell Fibe thats available to me.

Here is my big dilema. Our house has 3 levels. The study where the router and phone jack are is at street level, go up 6 stairs to level 2 the TV is situated approx 80ft away from those stairs, the bedroom TV is up on level 3. They said the TV has to be hard wired into the router, which needs a phone jack. This means they would have to run cable along the based boards from the Study to the TV on level 2? this would be a nightmare, no way would I have all that coax on show. So then I get a brain wave! there is a phone jack in the bedroom why not use that as the main box and have the TV on level 2 connect wirelessly. Then I got to thinking that the router would have to go up there, how big is the PVR box, where would that go, if it needs to be by the TV then more cableing. I am such a neat freak that all those boxes and cables would drive me crazy.

Now you say its not all that, I am wondering if its worth it.

I thought about asking if they would do a site survey before installation, not sure if they offer that service.
Miss Clinique is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2014, 7:21 pm
  #7  
SUPER MODERATOR
 
Jerseygirl's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 86,604
Jerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bell Fibre

Originally Posted by Miss Clinique View Post
Its Bell Fibe thats available to me.

Here is my big dilema. Our house has 3 levels. The study where the router and phone jack are is at street level, go up 6 stairs to level 2 the TV is situated approx 80ft away from those stairs, the bedroom TV is up on level 3. They said the TV has to be hard wired into the router, which needs a phone jack. This means they would have to run cable along the based boards from the Study to the TV on level 2? this would be a nightmare, no way would I have all that coax on show. So then I get a brain wave! there is a phone jack in the bedroom why not use that as the main box and have the TV on level 2 connect wirelessly. Then I got to thinking that the router would have to go up there, how big is the PVR box, where would that go, if it needs to be by the TV then more cableing. I am such a neat freak that all those boxes and cables would drive me crazy.

Now you say its not all that, I am wondering if its worth it.

I thought about asking if they would do a site survey before installation, not sure if they offer that service.
Sorry I can't help you...we have a 2 bed condo...so not much wiring to worry about. I'm with you on the wiring though...it should all be wireless.
Jerseygirl is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2014, 8:07 pm
  #8  
The ride never ends
 
orly's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 2,480
orly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond reputeorly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bell Fibre

Originally Posted by Atlantic Xpat View Post
I'm in FibreOp too. Bell also sells something called "Fibe" in ON which isn't Fibre Optic all the way to your home but rather Fibre Optic to a local exchange and then regular copper from there. Less good.
It's usually a bit closer than the exchange. There will have been fibre links between the exchanges for a number of years. Fibe usually runs to the "node" and it's generally somewhere close by in the locality/neighbourhood.
orly is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.