175...TRA...Degree and confusion

Old Sep 17th 2008, 9:09 pm
Just Joined

headjelly is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 175...TRA...Degree and confusion

Ok, after discounting an AIM assessment for him on the basis that he's not working at the required level we're now looking at me being the primary applicant. Surprise, surprise, it's not going to be that straightforward.

I graduated with a BDes Hons (Scottish BA), in Printed Textile design and have, for the past 11 years been self employed as a costume maker. This involves numerous different skills but the are two listed on the SOL which match closely what my role entails on a daily basis - Apparel Cutter and Patternmaker Grader.

I've been advised that the assessing authority (TRA) may not recognise my degree as being relevant to my occupation as they normally look for vocational not academic qualifications.

The agent we've contacted have said they can provide 'an initial trade assessment service' for £270 but clearly this will not be an inexpensive process and we need to save every penny we can.

So, can anyone please help?
Old Sep 19th 2008, 3:18 am
JAJ
Retired

JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 175...TRA...Degree and confusion

You could probably get a Vetassess assessment in a 50 point occupation based on your degree. Is 50 points enough?

DIAC would look closely at your work experience to make sure it was really "skilled" and unless they were sure, they would ask you to do a trade assessment anyway. But if you present your case well, it might not be necessary.