Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand > Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (NZ)
Reload this Page >

Brit grad heading to NZ in Jan 2017 - visa advice

Brit grad heading to NZ in Jan 2017 - visa advice

Old Aug 22nd 2016, 7:35 pm
Just Joined

londoner91 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Brit grad heading to NZ in Jan 2017 - visa advice

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum, and have done a fair bit of research on the range of visas out there that might be suitable for me. But, having spoken to a NZ consulate technical adviser who suggested I just go for the WHV, I thought it would be great to get some more opinions and advice from here.

A little bit about myself. I'm an environmental graduate, just coming to the end of an MSc in Environmental Technology at Imperial College London. I've also just finished a 16 month placement as part of the masters programme, which was based with a water company in their technical innovation team (testing new technology, sussing out water quality science, and all sorts of fun stuff). I'm heading over to NZ in January 2017 (flights booked), with the aim of trying my hand at life here. I'm committed, and want a permanent, skilled job, rather than a backpacker job (as I did on my WHV in Aus - great fun, but hopefully want to stay put in NZ).

I recently spoke to a technical advisor at the consulate in London (over the phone), who told me to just come on a WHV, and I shouldn't have a problem getting a job, although I did stress I was looking for permanent work, hopefully in the environmental sector, as that is where my skills / qualifications lie. Having read up on people's experiences, it does seem to limit people massively, and really put employers off the moment they see you are just on a WHV.

So I went looking for other options too.